Saving the Ta-ta’s 5k race recap

It was an early morning.  My 17 year old son and I had to be in Raleigh for our first time running the Race for the Cure 5k.  We’ve had a few days of torrential rains from Tropical Storm Andrea, so I was pleasantly surprised when I got up this morning at 4am, that the rain had finally ceased.  We left the house at 5:20, and found parking right at the start finish area thanks to a tip from a friend who has been at this race many times.  Since this race is so large, they make the masses park at the PNC Arena several miles away, and be shuttled in.  We were so lucky to have been able to park so close.

We were running as part of Team RunRaleigh Racing, and about 15 of us all gathered at 6:30 for a few group photos.  After that we filed into the starting area, very close to the front.  I have heard that because this race is so large, the start can be a challenge.  We wanted to be near the front so that we didn’t have to worry about tripping over other people.  As the starting bell rang, we were off.  The first mile or so heads down Hillsborough St. away from Meredith College before it breaks to the left and becomes a rolling course through old Raleigh neighborhoods.  My son Dylan was ahead of me the first mile, and I just wanted to stay within range of him.  We hit the first mile clock at 6:40.  Ok, I though, I can do this.

The second mile was more challenging.  I slowed a bit, and my son did as well.  There were plenty of cheering folks on the sides of the streets, which was nice.  I caught up to Dylan right about mile 2.  We were still sub 7 minute pace at that point.  6:56 to be exact.  We ran side by side for the next 1/2 mile as we passed a singing choir on the lawn of a church.  Now, that was unexpected!  At mile 2.5 we were at 7:05 pace, and I told my son that if he wanted to reach his goal of under 21 minutes, that he had to hightail it to the finish.  He just didn’t have it in him, and started fading.  I passed him, thinking that he would whoop my ass at the finish, but it wasn’t to be.  I finished in 22:18, he rolled in just seconds later at 22:29.  We both had a really good race.  I have no idea yet how many people ran the race, or how many were in our age groups, but I finished 13th in AG, 86th Overall.  My son finished 14th in AG, and 94th Overall.

It was a very inspiring day!  Inspiring to see all the Pink!  Inspiring to see all of the survivors, and families of those that have been lost to breast cancer.  In addition to the competitive event that we took part in, there was also a women’s only race that followed ours.  After that race, there was also a recreational 5k (untied).  There were thousands of people there today.  Such a great event in support of a great cause.ImageImageImage

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Saving the Ta-ta’s 5k race recap

  1. It must’ve been so cool to run with your son 🙂 I so admire your ability to run both fast and long. I remember reading reports about your first marathon on Twitter. You rock my man!

    • Thanks Jeff! It has been a really fun road. Last year with injury thrown into the mix, really made me appreciate and focus on staying healthy and listening to my body. It seems to be working this year even with lofty goals for 2013.

Leave a Reply

