My love? My downfall?

Image

Bet you didn’t think this post would be about soda!  I am a total sucker for the stuff.  My drink of choice is pictured above.  An ice cold, Diet Lime Coke.  Now, I am not a snob or anything, I can drink a Diet Pepsi with Lime, too.  Regular Diet Coke, yep, that’s cool.

As a runner, and being part of the running community in general, I hear all sorts of bad things about soda.  I hear about people kicking the soda habit, and how much better off he or she is after.  Makes one feel more alive, and cleansed.  I am not sure I really buy the hype of giving up my Diet Coke.  I don’t drink alcohol, so why can’t I have my fizzy soda pop?

Before, during and after runs, I do like to charge and recharge with electrolyte drinks like Gatorade or Powerade.  I often have Zym drink tablets, and Nuun on hand to drop into a bottle of water per-run.  I like them both, and the variety of flavors offered really makes it interesting.  I just don’t think I am ready to give up my soda.  Plus, I never drink the full sugar versions of any soda, I much prefer the taste of a diet drink.

The reason I am writing this blog entry is to sort of spark a debate, both external and internal.  Do you drink sodas?  How do you feel about them?  Do you think they affect fitness performance?  Share your thoughts, I would love to hear them.

19 thoughts on “My love? My downfall?

  1. never really acquired the taste for diet anything. I’ve had a few every now and then, but they’ve always left a strange after taste in my mouth.

  2. I stopped drinking “pop” as us midwesterners call it, when I realized there were so many empty calories. Also I do not like diet anything, I am not a fan of the sweetener aftertaste, so I quit cold turkey. Every once in a while I might have one, but usually a few drinks and I am done, just doesn’t do anything for me anymore.

    I do have a friend who drinks D. Coke like water

  3. Prior to 2013, I drank enough Diet Coke to FLOAT AN ARMADA! I was definitely addicted — and had to get started on them at lunch if not sooner. I get tired (don’t we all) and it was an attempt to stay awake at work, driving, etc. I read things that implied that even though it’s “zero calorie,” diet soda tricks my body into some odd sugar/metabolism thing that would make me gain weight. Result after 7 months? I haven’t lost weight (and I haven’t been trying but I was curious if just stopping the diet coke would do it). I do think it’s better for me. I still consume artificial sweetener which apparently is going to make me grow a third head — progress not perfection. For what it’s worth, this blog and the embedded video were one of my “sources.” Good luck! Keep us posted re what you decide! http://ktotheb.com/2011/is-diet-coke-bad-for-you/

  4. Nothing wrong with an occasional treat. Moderation is the key. The artificial sweeteners though I’m not a fan of. A bit of research into what really goes into making artificial sweeteners could be a good idea, so you can make an informed decision as to what you are putting in your body. I love my glass of wine, my husband isn’t a drinker but loves his coke just not all the time and definitely only as a treat.

  5. Thanks for responding to my blog.

    I stopped drinking soda regularly a few years ago when I really became a runner. I coached youth track and our head coach didn’t want our kids drinking it, so I didn’t feel like I should drink it either- and what better way to experiment, right? I used to be an every day drinker, multiple sodas per day- eek! Now… I have soda maybe every 2-3 weeks. It’s a treat. I honestly think it’s fine to drink the occasional soda, everything in moderation you know? Even if you are a runner and drink a soda occasionally you are still doing better than probably 90% of people who drink it constantly, don’t work out, etc- and you gotta live your life and do what works for you, both physically and mentally. Sometimes it’s just fun to drink a soda :).

  6. I gave up diet soda in around 2006 – and truly believe I’m much better off for it. I avoid artificial sweeteners and HFCS (high fructose corn syrup or glucose-fructose) avidly. Again, truly believe it makes a difference in my training! But I’ll indulge in a natural soda pop sweetened with cane sugar on occasion 🙂 Best of luck finding your ‘sweet spot’ when it comes to soda!

  7. I used to drink up to 4 litres of Coke a day. Slowly, I cut this down, and then made the switch to Diet Coke. The change that I experienced was huge! Eventually I cut this down to about a can of Diet Coke a week. My wife and I went for a live blood analysis, and the Dr immediately picked up the stress that the artificial processed sugar was placing on our bodies. That sealed the deal for us, and now neither of us drinks any kind of carbonated drink on a regular basis.

    We train harder, have more constant energy levels, recover faster and feel “cleaner” for it… Good luck!

      • I found that it didn’t take that much will power. As I made small changes in my diet, the appeal of something processed lessened…

      • I found that it didn’t take too much willpower. As our diets changed, neither of us wanted to take in processed goods as much. We definitely aren’t getting it right yet, but bit by bit we are getting there. Its worth it! Keep at it!

  8. I completely sympathise with this (err… and I’m writing this while staring at the empty can of Diet Coke gracing my desk). I know it’s bad for me, that it’s been linked with osteoporosis, that artificial sweeteners can actually increase your body’s desire for sugary foods but I can’t lay off the stuff. I can go weeks – sometimes months – without it but then it lures me back. I’m working on the basis that if it’s my biggest vice, then I’m probably doing okay in the great scheme of things.

    • It’s a huge debate, isn’t it? Thanks for giving me your thoughts. I too think it’s not good, but better than indulging in alcohol, which I don’t do. Gotta live a little and have some treats in life, right?

  9. I drank 1-3 CocaCola Zeros every day. On January 1st I stopped (it was not easy at all!!!). Now the habit is gone and yes I feel better. Now my habit is coffee. I don’t know, maybe this is a slightly better habit though, but I guess that is a different debate…

Leave a Reply

