Half Marathon #18

Image

Bull City – My 18th Half Marathon

This coming Sunday, I will be running the Bull City Race Fest Half Marathon.  I’m looking forward to it, and a little worried about it at the same time.  After running a Half, Full, Half on three consecutive weekends, I have been struggling a bit with recovery while trying to maintain my fitness level for my final four races of the year.

I had to take a few days off from training last week, my hamstrings felt injured, and I felt tired.  I really started to worry last week that I would not be able to finish out my year with a real bang.  Thankfully, with a few days of rest, I have been able to put together three runs over the past few days that have felt much better.  I am not getting more excited about running in Durham this weekend.  I am vastly unfamiliar with Durham, even though it is not that far away.

Living in “The Triangle“, and area that encompasses Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill, I have spent the least amount of time in the Durham area.  I have raced there in the past, twice racing an event called Running of the Bulls.  This event is an 8k, and have twice run it with my older son.  The folks at Bull City Running put on great events.  This course, is new to me, and knowing that brings me a little uneasiness.  The course is hilly, but I don’t mind that at all.  The weather looks fairly promising, but we are still a few days away and things could change.  Right now it looks like favorable morning temperatures, and partly cloudy.

Image

Supporting local events is a must in my book.  I try to run as many as I can, but running the same races year after year can get a bit boring.  The nice thing about this race, is that it is a first time event.  I’ll definitely report back after the race, and let everyone know how this race rates.

My goals for this race?  To enjoy the atmosphere, and soak up the sights in Durham.  The race showcases the downtown area, Trinity Park and the campus of Duke University.  Most of the area is unknown to me, so this should be fun to run.  As far as a time goal, I really would just like to run it under 1:45:00.  Other than that, because this is a large race, I just want to quickly get into a nice rhythm and let my legs and feet do the work.  I will recap my event early next week.

Image

Durham…. I am heading your way for #18!

6 thoughts on “Half Marathon #18

  1. Pingback: I’m a Half Marathon Pacer!!! | Running Wild

  2. Pingback: Bull City Race Fest – Race recap | Running Wild

Leave a Reply

