Countdown to Las Vegas

Image

Every day that passes, my upcoming trip to Las Vegas is more and more on my mind.   Let’s face it, I love the place!  I’ve been going to Las Vegas about twice a year for over 10 years now.  Las Vegas has changed so much just during the timeframe that I have been visiting there.  I used to gamble in the Sahara, the Stardust, the Frontier.  All of which are now closed, or completely gone.  City Center, and the Cosmopolitan are some of the latest additions to the Famous Strip.  I have just as much fun now, if not more so, when I visit than I did back then.

The overall feel of Las Vegas, from stepping off the airplane, is just truly unique.  If you’ve never been, I highly recommend that you make the journey there at least once.  There is world class food everywhere, beautiful sights to behold all over, and of course it’s the gambling Mecca of the world.  I’ve been there in the height of Summer, when temperatures soar over 110 degrees, and I’ve been during all of the other seasons, as well.  They all are unique.

This trip coming up will be a combination trip for me.  Time to relax, and enjoy the food and the gambling, but also to run.  I am registered for the Rock n Roll Marathon on 11/17.

ImageImageImageImage

I am really excited about it!  We fly in on the morning of the 14th, so will have plenty of time to adjust to the time change, and be rested before race day.  This race is run in the evening, so that is different for me.  Race day fueling will be a challenge.  When to eat?  It should be great fun.  It will be a crazy, crowded, electric race.  My main goal is really just to enjoy every moment.  Run my race, and take in all the sights of Vegas.  There are plenty!

Three weeks from today will be the day before the race.  I will not be dressing up as Elvis for the run, but I’m sure there will be plenty of them on the course.  There is also a run-thru wedding chapel, for runners who want to get hitched during the race.  There will be tutu’s, and wigs, and costumes, oh my!  Truly unique, and what I just love about Las Vegas.  Over the top, and awesome!

ImageImageImage

As the excitement builds, so does my energy for running Vegas again.  This race will be my last race of 2013, so hopefully I will race it with gusto, and much enthusiasm.  So get ready Las Vegas, I am heading your way for the ultimate party with thousands and thousands of my running comrades.  Shutting down the Strip to everything but runners on November 17th during the race.  Don’t be mad at us, cheer us on.  This only happens once a year.

If you’ve never been to Las Vegas, Nevada, you must go!

6 thoughts on “Countdown to Las Vegas

  1. Pingback: Vegas Vacation | Running Wild

  2. Pingback: Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas Marathon -Race Recap Part 1 | Running Wild

Leave a Reply

