I Did It! A new Marathon PR today!

Image

Today was my 7th marathon.  Lucky #7, I will have to call it from now on.  The Raleigh City of Oaks Marathon, on November 3, 2013. I will recap this event in full by early in the week, but my news from today warranted at least a quick post to let me blog readers know how I did today.

I am happy to report that I achieved a new marathon personal record today.  I know I could have done even better, but struggled quite a bit with intermittent leg cramping on the second half of the race.  I can’t wait to see my splits, and official results are not posted yet, but based on the unofficial results, I came in at 3:32:29 today!  I was absolutely ecstatic, as this is a tough race, filled with many difficult hills.  I have never run this race before, but came into it with a lot of confidence based on my half marathon finish a week ago.  That confidence, and perfect running weather proved to be the winning combination I needed today to beat my previous best.  My PR for the Full had previously been set in February of 2012, so this has been a long time coming.  My old PR was 3:33:32 at the Myrtle Beach Marathon, on a flat course.

So this really means the world to me, as the difficulty of this course is so much greater than the course in Myrtle Beach.  To set a PR on a difficult course like this left me elated.  I was thrilled.  Still am!!

Now on to the Las Vegas Marathon two weeks from today.  I need to recover well, work on speed work, and hopefully go for a sub 3:30:00 on the flat course in Nevada.

My full recap will be up in a few days.  Time to celebrate!

31 thoughts on “I Did It! A new Marathon PR today!

  1. Pingback: Raleigh City of Oaks Marathon – Race Recap | Running Wild

Leave a Reply

