Viva Las Vegas

Image

Just one week from today, I will be boarding a plane with my best friend, heading to the land of swimming pools and titty bars.  Gambling chips, stilettos, and money.  Neon lights, slot machines and Cirque.  Of course, it’s one of my favorite places on Earth!

Las Vegas will be the sight of my fifth marathon of the year.  Challenging because of many things… It’s 26.2 miles, first and foremost.  It’s a huge race, meaning thousands of runners,  The race is in the evening, and Vegas is the also the land of buffets.  Proper fueling, and hydration will be critical, in Vegas, no easy feat.  I really have to be mindful.

I ran this infamous race back in 2011, except then, I ran the Half.  It was my third Half, and have since run 16 more.  I was really a newbie to racing that distance back then.  I was also coming off from being sick for ten days leading up to that race.  This time, the Full, my 8th Full.  I feel good right now, so I have to take care of myself over the next week.  I want to stay healthy and give myself the best shot for a great marathon.

Image

My 2011 race shirt front and back.

Image

With all the good and bad publicity that Rock n Roll races get, I am curious to hear about your experiences with them.  Have you run any?  If so, which ones?  What did you think?  I’ve only run the race two years ago, and had a great time.  I will be signing up for the inaugural Rock n Roll here in Raleigh next April, but would consider others if you have other suggestions.  I bet the New Orleans race is amazing.  I will probably try the Savannah race sometime.  Let me know.  Would love to hear your thoughts.

This marathon is 10 days away.  It will be my 8th marathon, and 50th race overall.  Is there a better place to celebrate such achievement?  Now I just have to figure out if I will dress up as a Blue Man or Elvis for the race…..just kidding.  I am not a costume wearer.  I will be going for another PR, so I have to take this run seriously.  I can’t wait!

Viva Las Vegas!

15 thoughts on “Viva Las Vegas

  1. The Vegas marathon is one I really want to do. The only RocknRoll I’ve done is the Savannah. It was just okay. The course was not as nice as you’d expect really. And the price of RocknRoll marathons are crazy. Or really all races are starting to get out of hand with prices. I guess that’s why I lean towards the low key races. Half the price, zero crowds and way less stress because of that.

    • Yes, they are expensive. That’s for sure. There’s nothing like running the Vegas strip, so that is the only reason I’m running it and paid the high price. Love Vegas anyway. I have family about 45 minutes from Savannah, so that is why I have considered that race.

  2. I always think RnR is a stable go to race when you are looking for something in a city. I have run several (Vegas , Nashville, Chicago, New Orleans) and know I can count on a good expo and race support. I ran the 2011 Vegas and it was a little of a cluster. I remember people getting sick and the infamous merge of the half and full marathoners. It was the first night race. Prior to that it had been a morning race with a totally different feel. I will do Vegas again and have a few RnR on my list in the future: Raleigh, Ottawa, Portland, Seattle. Have fun in Vegas before to catch a show!

  3. Good luck!
    Personally, I’m getting kind of tired of the RnR’s. They’ve gotten very expensive. The course and post race “entertainment” have gone really downhill, and they now longer support a charity – purely for profit. I’ve run the Dallas one the first 4 years, but going to skip it this year. I have had a lot of fun at the New Orleans one, so may do that again, but I think my good experiences there have more to do with the city than the race.
    Again, good luck!

  4. I’ve only done one RnR (Denver last year), it was meh, not the most organized on the course. More music on the course of many other halves I’ve done than RnR Expo was awesome though, lots of great new products, swag, and my favourite go-tos. Coming off NYC last week too, so this should be interesting! (Also did 26.2 in Chicago 4 weeks ago 🙂 Run much?

    • Sounds similar to my Fall schedule. I ran Asheville City Marathon last weekend in September, and 3 Halves in October, before last weekends Full. Now let’s see what kind of legs I have for Vegas.

  5. Pingback: Two Marathons/Two Weeks | Running Wild

  6. Pingback: Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas Marathon -Race Recap Part 2 | Running Wild

Leave a Reply

