Unmotivated

Image

December does it to me every year.  I should remember this, so as each November comes to a close, I am ready.

Cold mornings, and evenings that turn dark so early are my worst enemies.  I always have good intentions, but find myself taking way too much time off during December.  Why is it so hard at this time of year to lace up my shoes and get out the door?  I guess it’s because I hate running when it’s 30 degrees outside.  I guess it’s because I hate having to run home from work, have no time to relax, and try to get out the door for a run before the temperatures plummet as the sun sets and gets dark.  It’s just easier to say, I’ll run tomorrow, or I’ll just add some extra miles on the weekend.  I say to myself, “I’m not lazy, I run marathons”.  The cold months do not help my training plan at all.

Isn’t it just easier to stay inside where its warm?  Write about running, instead of actually doing it?  Historically, December has been a rough month for me.  Extra tough work, more physical work during the holiday season.  Trying to focus, and do extra things during the holiday season.  Christmas tree, shopping for presents, cooking, get togethers.  All things that take up extra time during the month.  What I really need is to run more, but I find it nearly impossible to make myself do it.  Last year I took a few weeks off in December to rest, and only logged 13 miles for the entire month.  I think this year so far I’ve run less than 40.  That’s an improvement, but not by much.

What do you do to stay motivated to run, or get your exercise during December?  Do you find it tougher to train in the Winter, like I do?  I would love to hear any tips you might have for finding that training focus during the cold, dark months.  Please share.

2 thoughts on “Unmotivated

  1. Habit, almost more than anything else! Plus, I actually like cold weather… haha. There’s something beautiful about the stillness and quiet of early morning in December that is lacking in other months… Plus, I have a marathon in January!

Leave a Reply

