Pushing your Limits

Image

2013 is over.  I really didn’t have a mileage goal for the year, but ended up putting in 1,134 miles.  This included 16 races.  Racing miles totaled 255.1.  That’s 5 marathons, 9 halves and 2 5k’s.  Almost a quarter of my overall miles were put in during races.  That is an interesting stat to me.  Really just goes to show that I enjoy competing and pushing my limits.  My goal for 2014 will be to reach the same.

My main goal for last year was to remain injury free.  Check!  Secondary goal was to run a combination of 13 half and full marathons throughout the 2013 season.  Check!  Where does that leave me for 2014?  I would like to log 1,200 miles this year, and qualify for Boston.  Of course, all the while remain injury free again.

When setting goals, do you go for broke?  Really push the envelope?  I like to set goals that are achievable, yet lofty.  Boston is a lofty goal for me.  Can I do it?  I’d like to think I can.  Will I qualify?  That is yet to be seen.  A runner friend of mine recently said that he plans on running less, but getting faster In the new year.  That running a five hour marathon just isn’t fun enough anymore.  I guess as we begin our running journeys, it’s great to pass milestones.  To run that first 5k, to work up to distance racing, if that’s what one chooses.  Running a first Half or Full is a huge accomplishment.  Finishing is usually the only goal for a first timer.  Once having run a few to several distance races, just finishing isn’t good enough anymore.  I like to get better, to push my limits.  At this point, running a marathon over four hours would be a disappointment.  For me, this would mean that my body didn’t react and do what I have trained it to do.  I enjoy running distance, and after setting a new marathon PR at the end of 2013, I would be lying if I told you that setting another PR at the marathon distance this year wasn’t important to me.  Is it.  So is qualifying for Boston.

I will push my limits, and go for it.  I have to keep telling myself to run harder, run faster.  That is the only way I will get to Boston.  I will be disappointed if I don’t qualify this year, but as long as I am making progress toward that goal, I will be ok with it.

How are you going to push your limits in 2014?

Image

6 thoughts on “Pushing your Limits

  1. my primary running goal is to hit the 1,000 mile mark. seems such an easy number for as much as i run but seems each year i end up down from injury for just long enough to keep me from reaching that milestone. secondary goal is to run my first hundred. i’m pretty sure i’ve picked my race but now i just need to commit to it mentally! it’s a level of insanity i never though i’d want to cross! lol

    • I kind of look at it this way. If you enjoy running marathons, sign up for them. If you keep them a month to two months apart, the running of the marathons themselves become much of the training for the next one.

      • I believe that is my philosophy towards half marathons! I have gotten myself to the point where I can run a 1/2 around 1:30 even if I haven’t found time for long runs. Marathons are still to painful to enjoy, due to the lack of training. Maybe someday I will get there.

Leave a Reply

