Marathon #10 – One week to go!

Image

At this moment, one week from today……

I will be about 16 miles into my 26.2 mile quest at my tenth marathon.  It’s really hard to believe.  My 9th down in Charleston was two weeks ago today, and wow has the last two weeks just flown by.  The moment I finished that race I started thinking about the one coming up in Hilton Head.  I thought, some recovery runs, some short burst running, and pace practice would be all I would do.  Throw in the snow this past week, and the bitter cold temperatures the past two weeks overall, and I just haven’t gotten in the runs I wanted to.

I ended up with about 75 miles total for the month of January.  Not as many as I wanted.  I’m really trying to cut myself some slack, because I really had a longer recovery period from Charleston than I wanted.  That race really tired out my body.  The struggle against the wind at that race really did me in.  It took several more days than normal after a marathon for my body to get back to feeling good.

Last Fall, I ran two marathons in two weeks.  Looking back on that, I felt really good after the first.  I worked hard in that race, conquering the hills of Raleigh, and setting a new marathon PR.  I came off that race with high hopes, and recovered very quickly.  Two weeks later I was running another marathon in Las Vegas.  I wasn’t trying to set any records at that race, but it proved to me that my body could handle two marathons pretty close together.  The difference this time is that my body didn’t feel as good coming off of the a Charleston a Marathon.  Plus the weather has really been a deterrent to my training and recovery.

So, a week from today, my goal in Hilton Head is to not shoot for a BQ, but to work on the mental part of my running.  I want to reach the half way point in that race feeling very positive.  I want to push myself, and maintain a more positive attitude than I had in Charleston.  I am hoping for better weather conditions.  The seven day forecast shows a good chance of rain for race day, which I am not thrilled about at all.  Hopefully as race day nears, this forecast will change.  The low is supposed to be 40, high of 60.  I am ok with this, but no rain, please!!!  Isn’t it amazing how much the weather and conditions on race day can affect your run?

I am excited, and nervous.  This always happens, but I really revel in race week anxiousness.  It just proves to me that I love running, and the excitement of pushing myself in a race.  My only competition is me out there, and I really hope to have a great run next Saturday.  Just one week to go!

Image

Hilton Head Island Marathon is my 10th, so it will be one for my record book.  I can’t wait!

Image

One thought on “Marathon #10 – One week to go!

Leave a Reply

