Marathon this Spring? Rock on!

Image

Now that Spring is finally upon us, so is marathon season.  I’m curious to know who is running a marathon, and where.

Marathons are plentiful at this time of year.  You’ve got them in probably every state in the U.S. in April alone.  With April starting tomorrow, will we be ready?  I’ve already run three marathons this year, but realize that most people only run one or two per year.  Coming off Winter training season, a lot of us are tapering for a big race right now.  I have the Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh marathon on the 13th, followed by the All American Marathon on May 4th.  A bunch of great runners will descend on Boston in April.  Where is your big race?

What I have figured out after a few years of running now, is that I train better in the heat than I do in the cold.  Winter training for me is difficult. It’s dark early, and I find it harder to motivate myself to get out in the cold, often times blustery weather.  My marathon finish times have proved it to me.  Fall marathon finish times this past year were better than the last few winter marathons I’ve run.  So, now that Spring is here, I’m wondering if the weather will help or hinder.  My last two races both had periods of rain, which I do not like.  Spring weather can often times mean rain.  Here in NC, it can also mean a really varying range in temperatures.  Looking at the forecast for the next ten days, most mornings are in the mid to upper 40’s, even 50’s.  I am ok with that for sure, for a race morning.  We are looking at high temperatures in the 70’s and 80’s.  Let’s just say, I hope that marathon morning is cool, around 50, and temps will not rise to near 70 until my race is long over with.

As I meet runners at races, we all have a common goal.  To enjoy the run.  We sometimes have goals, pace or otherwise, but our common goal is to finish and have fun.  Isn’t that why we race?  What are your goals when you toe the line this Spring at your next race? Are you trying to qualify for Boston?  Are you shooting for the 50 staters club?  Trying to become a Marathon Maniac or Half Fanatic?  Maybe your goal is all about your health, and improving your fitness?  Maybe your goal is not to fall down or throw up at the finish?  Just enjoy it!  Running should be fun, so my ‘A’ goal is just that.  My ‘B’ goal is to BQ, my ‘C’ goal is a marathon PR.

I look forward to hearing your stories!  Rock on my running friends!

10 thoughts on “Marathon this Spring? Rock on!

  1. Running All American in May and worried about the heat. I agree that it’s difficult to train in the cold and I haven’t been as dedicated in my training as I should. Therefore, my goal for this upcoming race is just to finish. I completed the NC Fat Ass 50k in January, but it was a whole different ballgame at 20 degrees.

    • The heat on race day will surely be a challenge. If it’s hot, we must take it slow and hydrate. I won’t be shooting for any records if the conditions are optimum. See you there!

  2. Running London marathon for the first time next Sunday, I’m nervous but really excited. Then Valencia in November which will be awesome
    Good luck with yours

  3. The best thing about the summer is the heat and not worrying about being overly stiff. I know from my own experiences that stretching and my flexibility is much better whilst there’s a bit of warmth about and then there’s the added advantage of being able to run in shorts :):)

Leave a Reply

