Imbalance

Image

Do you ever feel off?  Just sort of blah?  I wanted to have a view the like picture above today, but instead I got to spend 8 hours on my feet at work.  I didn’t get back from vacation that long ago, I have to keep telling myself.  Sometimes though, I just feel like I need more time away from it all.

Lately my runs haven’t even felt as good as they usually do.  They do still relieve stresses of my life, but I just don’t feel balanced lately.  I think I need to spend more time reading, with my feet up.  I need to spend more time envisioning that beach in my minds eye, and let it put me in a happier place.

My life is transitioning somewhat though in the next few months, and I think that may be part of the reason why I feel off.  My eldest is finishing High School, and will be leaving the nest soon.  Change.  In the back of my mind I tend to envision how it all will go.  I need to relax more about it.

Have you ever had phases in life where your one stress relief just doesn’t seem to be cutting it?  For me, it’s running.  I can’t run through every blah though.  I hope I am not getting burned out.  Sometimes the a run just feels like a chore, and I can’t have it be that way.  I need to recharge and refocus.  Running is essential in my life, and I want it to be more fun right now.

My Marathon a week from today?  I plan on having fun!

9 thoughts on “Imbalance

  1. I’m going through something similar. I feel like I’m in a rut. I’ve been training hard, but I keep coming up short of my goals on race day. Running has in ways become another stress instead of the stress-reliever it once was. Part of me knows I should just let go of my pace goals for a while, and just RUN, but another part of me just won’t let go of those goals until I reach them!

  2. You’ve been running REALLY hard for months – a break and FUN might be in order 🙂 By the way, I hope you saw that I nominated you for the Liebster award (if you haven’t been already).
    I know that in the last few years, during the most stressful times, I ran just to run for that much needed stress relief and wasn’t training for anything in particular. It would be pretty tough mentally to take all that on! Good luck in your marathon!!! Should be a great atmosphere!

    • Thanks, I know a lot of the pressure is self imposed. I do love to race, and I do love the thrill of a marathon. I just can’t help myself when it comes to signing up for races sometimes. I have to remind myself that I had a marathon PR just five months ago, and just enjoy. Thanks for the nomination, too! I’m looking forward to RnR this Sunday. It should be a blast.

  3. Ah, marathon in a week – you’ve got Taper Blues…. (or blahs, whichever you like). Keep your goals in sight and remember that “this too shall pass”. Seriously, the phrase that helps me through everything from bad days at work to bad runs, to general ennui with life is a mis-quoted line from Robert Frost: “The only way out is through” (Actual line: The best way out is always through). As with running, some times life needs a mantra too. Good luck! And have fun at that race!

  4. Ha, I can definitely relate. I’m going to tell you what you told me: a change of seasons is in the air, better times are ahead! I think you can definitely blame taper for some of your blahs though – it’s usually enough to throw some sort of imbalance into a normally well-oiled routine.

Leave a Reply

