Meb wins Boston Marathon

Image

Just incredible performance yesterday by who we should all be calling, a National Hero.  Bringing Boston home for the first time in decades, Meb Keflezighi, an American should be floating on cloud nine today.  What an inspiring day, what an inspired win!

image

Reading stories like Meb’s, and Rita’s, and Shalane’s…..  Hearing stories about runners I know who were there to run an epic marathon in Boston, one can be jealous and proud at the same time.  Runners like me all around the world have renewed inner spirit and determination based on those performances yesterday.  Don’t we all want to get to Boston?  I am working hard, and will work even harder now, so that I am one of the lucky one’s at next years Boston Marathon.  I haven’t had that perfect race yet this year, but have a few more chances.  I’m going to work harder, train harder, eat better.

My next marathon is the All American Marathon.  Now just 12 days away.  I signed up back in December, knowing that the potential for a hot race was pretty strong based on a May 4th race day.  Yet to be seen, as the forecast doesn’t go out that far.  I will be prepared for the heat though, and try to race as strong as I can.  I bet registration for this event, which also has a half marathon and 5k, saw a huge jump yesterday when Meb won Boston.  You see, Meb is scheduled to be at this local event.  At the pre-race pasta dinner as a speaker, and also at the finish line festival.  I already knew I was going to get the chance to meet Meb on May 4th, but now I get to meet our newest National Hero, the winner of the Boston Marathon.  How exciting is that?  Just knowing that will help push me along that 26.2 mile race course from Fayetteville to Fort Bragg.

image

If you haven’t got any plans for that weekend upcoming, I urge you to join me, the soldiers, other runners and Meb.

Leave a Reply

