It’s all about the BLING…. Or is it?

Image

I’ve seen a lot of posts lately about race medals.  Bling!  The question I have for my readers is, do you run for the bling?  Do you pick races and run them with that medal in mind?

Some races have gotten really creative with medal design, while others have not.  I, for one, can say that I have never chosen a race based on what I think I will get as a reward at the finish line.  Sure, it’s nice to get a great medal placed around my neck at the finish, but that is not the reason I run, or race.  Medals with bottle openers, medals that spin or glow in the dark, medals that open or rotate.  Do you have a favorite?  How about the material it’s made out of, or the ribbon?

As a frequent racer, I have amassed a small fortune of medals, and am proud to receive each one.  I don’t even have an official medal rack to hang them on.  They just all kind of hang randomly from books on a bookshelf.  There is not rhyme or reason to how they are hung, but they certainly inspire.

Here are some photos of various medals I have earned.

image image image image

image

Now I want to see some of your favorites!  Show me the one’s that mean the most to you.

14 thoughts on “It’s all about the BLING…. Or is it?

  1. They all are so special! Said in jest as they are bundled up on the floor in my basement. I used to pick races based on the medal. Now I pick them based on the elevation. I can deal with a bad medal just not hills!

  2. I have loads of medals from younger days,makes me sound old but hey that’s life 🙂 There are 2 medals in my possession that mean a lot to me . The one was run to qualify for an Ultra marathon in South Africa called the Comrades Marathon. I’m sure you’ve heard of it? It’s run from 2 cities and in opposite directions every year. The medal I have for it is a small bronze medal but to me it’s the biggest one in my whole running career.

  3. Like you, I’ve never entered a race for the loot or medal, although I do like them! It’s nice to walk around with them for a few hours afterwards (well, after a marathon anyways), and I do like the whole bunch of them hanging together on my curtain rail in the living room. It’s nice to add to the collection, but the individual medals aren’t that important to me.

  4. I don’t pick races based on medals, but I definitely have some medals that I like more than others. The Flying Pig and RunTheBluegrass medals are my favorite ones. I feel that all of my half marathons are hard earned so all of those medals are meaningful to me while medals from shorter races are less important.

  5. I love medals but we don’t have many here in Tasmania, Australia. Mostly it’s just for the joy of running. My favourite one that I’ve earned is from the Point to Pinnacle…21.4kms with a rise in altitude of 1250m. Your medals are so cool – awesome looking and awesomely earned by you!

    My Pauly had a gold bangle engraved with ‘Point to Pinnacle 2013’ on it for me so I get to wear it every day and I have a 21.1km bead on my Pandora bracelet that I wear every day too. I’m a spoilt runner 🙂 A friend gave me a bangle that says ‘If you can dream it you can achieve it’ – that’s what it’s all about.

    Loving your blog 🙂

    • That is awesome about the jewelry that you get to wear about your achievements. Too bad that more races don’t offer medals down there. They are a nice reminder, and keepsake of each races journey.

  6. Love this post! My favorite race medal is from my first half in Chicago. It was by far my toughest and most rewarding race yet. It’s what got me hooked on running! I love working towards a goal and accomplishing it 🙂 Getting bling at the end is a great by-product for sure. I don’t hate it!

  7. But which medal design is your favorite vs which one means more to you?? 🙂

    I like to collect the medals, sure, and I appreciate pretty or more stylized medals for the longer distances, but it’s not the main reason I run a race.

    Usually, I run specifically based on a) are there people from my running group going and/or b) is it a destination I want to go to?

    I do also consider if the race has made my bucket list – and Yes, I do have a “marathon wish list”… so far, I have no idea what some of the medals on that list look like.

    • Nice! I like the memories that medals hold. The memory of that specific race. It helps to blog recaps, too. I have no idea what the medal looks like for my marathon this Sunday. It will be a nice surprise. What races are on your bucket list?

  8. Another great post! I love getting medals too. I think my favorite design is one I got for a 5k it’s also a magnet and bottle opener. I also like my 2014 BRM as it’s a belt buckle. However like many, I have a lot collecting dust, so I set up a local chapter for Medals4Mettle, you can always donate them.

Leave a Reply

