Traveling to Run – Running to Travel

Image

One of the best things that has happened as a result of my running, well other than the health benefits both physical and mental is that running gives me an opportunity to travel to places that I may not have normally visited otherwise.  Who doesn’t love to travel?  Unique places, different cities.

Let me think…. Racing has taken me many places.  Many, many more to come.  Over the past few years I was able to visit Asheville, NC twice to run marathons.  Different marathons.  I visited a small town in Upstate New York to run a Half Marathon in a town called DeRuyter.  I’ve been to both Wrightsville Beach, NC, and Charleston, SC, both beach towns this year alone.  I’ve been to Roanoke, Virginia.  A beautiful mountain town with beautiful people, to run America’s Toughest Road Marathon, the a Blue Ridge Marathon.  Yeah, I have traveled to Las Vegas three times to race.  Well, I go there anyway a few times a year, but adding a race into the trip makes it even more fun.  I’ve traveled to Jersey City, NJ.  A beautiful half Marathon right across the water from Manhattan, with views of the Statue of Liberty.  I’ve been a few places, for sure.

image image image image image

Looking at the months ahead, I have a few more “new” cities to explore through my running.  I’ve never been to Chicago before.  I get to run the Chicago Marathon this year, so this will be a first visit.  I get to travel to Utah this Fall.  Another first.  Running the Big Cottonwood Marathon is the reason for the trip.  A trip I probably wouldn’t make otherwise.

image

What other locations on the map will I check off the list one day due to my running?  Many, I hope.  I can think of another right off the bag that would be an amazing trip.  Boston, MA.  We’ll see where running takes me.  Reading running blogs from around the world often inspire me to travel.  One of my favorites, with many beautiful pictures makes me want to travel down under.  http://www.unsportywomencanrun.wordpress.com is a great blog, and the reason why I want to travel a billion miles to get there.

I am lucky to run, and lucky to travel.  Have you ever been to a place through your running that you would have never visited otherwise?  Do you travel to run?  Run to travel?  Share your stories, and let me know what places on the map are just not to be missed.

18 thoughts on “Traveling to Run – Running to Travel

  1. I went to Alaska for a marathon – that’s pretty much the only time I’ve traveled to run. However, I love to run when I travel! I did the Pikes Peak Ascent when I was in Colorado and it was awesome!

  2. Ooo, I am excited you get to go to Utah! I was in SLC last year, and loved it. I want to check out more of the state – there is such a variety of landscape!

    I tend to find races when I am traveling. It’s not quite in our budget (except to see family and friends, lol!) but I really hope to travel more, someday!

  3. Thanks for the lovely comment! Your running completely inspires me and makes me so determined to get to the start line of a marathon very soon. I hope you do get to come and do some runs here in Australia. There are just so many wonderful places to run. BUT Australia needs to lift the game on the medals (hehe) ours are down right dull compared to the wonderful medals you achieve. Thanks again 🙂 (of course Point to Pinnacle in Tasmania is THE most amazing event ever…sells out in six weeks of opening – only 2000 are allowed to enter this one).

  4. I would LOVE to travel more to run, but it’s so expensive. We splurged on Boston this year since the kids and I hadn’t been there before, but we can’t do that often. My husband is running in Savannah in the fall and I’m going to Houston (free flight and staying with friends), so just have to keep it on the budget. Unfortunately. There’s so many amazing races in amazing places out there so we just take it one year at a time! You’ll love Chicago!

    • I really hope so. Have never spent any time in Chicago. Will be a short trip, but plan on soaking in as much as possible. Nice to know I have airline, and hotel all situated already. I hear ya on the budget thing. I probably do more than I should. But it’s my past time, and love. Did you hear that the All American Marathon just announced they are morning the date to March next year? The 22nd!

      • I haven’t kept up on my marathons so didn’t hear. I probably won’t be doing the Wrightsville Beach full either as my son wants to run a half and that would be the race I’d want him to run. And of course I’d have to run with him (before he gets too fast). He will only be 12.

      • Wow, yes a Half at the age of 12? I would be there right by his side, as well. I’ve signed my son and myself up for the Half at City of Oaks this November. He is 16, and that will be his first Half distance race. I will run with him the entire way. Already looking forward to it.

  5. Great post! I would love to do the Reykjavik marathon in Iceland one day (because that’s where I’m from)

  6. I love the traveling that running has brought me, too. In Chicago there is something for everyone. The course can be very fast, and I loved running through all the neighborhoods. I think you’ll love it. The Big Cottonwood is awesome in a totally different way. The course is stunning, and there are miles of hiking trails minutes away. Every new race is an opportunity to see a new part of our great country! Can’t wait to read about your upcoming races!

Leave a Reply

