Boston Announcement

The announcement has been made.  The formal announcement for registration for the 2015 Boston Marathon.

image

Registration will begin on September 8, 2014 for those runners beating their age group time standard by 20 minutes or more.  Following that, on 9/10, those more than 10 minutes better than qualifying time.  Then on 9/12, those qualifying by more than five minutes better than standard are able to register.

What does this mean to me?  My Boston Qualifying goal race is 9/13.  During registration week.  My qualifying time standard is 3:25:00.  That means that if I run a 3:20:00 at Big Cottonwood, I could register for Boston right after I finish the race.  If I meet my standard, but not by 5 minutes or more, I could register on 9/15 if space remains.

image

The B.A.A. has not yet announced the size of the marathon field for 2015, or the percentage of that field which will be designated for time qualifiers, so a lot remains up in the air.  It would be amazing to qualify in Utah on 9/13, but only time will tell.  I will make sure that I have my IPad and credit card to register provided the marathon goes as planned, but I will also have a box of tissues just in case I’m crying at the end out of disappointment.

image

First things first though.  I have a Summer chock full of training ahead of me, and to get to Boston will take one training run at a time.

Anyone out there shooting for a Boston Qualifying time this Summer?  Where and when is your race?  Are you ready to take on the challenge?

12 thoughts on “Boston Announcement

  1. Ah, the state I grew up in. I would love to return one day to NY for a marathon. The one at Lake Placid, or Buffalo, or Rochester (where I went to college and lived for ten years), or the Wineglass Marathon. Job well done! Hope to see you in Boston.

  2. Best of luck to you. I’ve recently gotten the confidence to start thinking about qualifying. I just need to shave an hour off my PR. ahaha! No worries, I’m much faster than my full marathon PR indicates. On it!

  3. Good luck!!! I am not ready for a BQ this year but am training hard to try for a spring BQ that qualifies me for 2016!

Leave a Reply

