Successful launch (Big Cottonwood & Boston)

I just completed a 5.1 mile run to cap off the most successful week of training in quite some time.  Weeks, in fact.  I ran just over 23 miles this week including a 10 mile long run.  I look at this as a big success and great launch back into full on marathon mode.

image

Big Cottonwood, which is my goal race, my Boston Qualifying attempt, and the holy grail of beautiful marathons is two months away today.  That’s right, September 13th will find me perched at the starting line at about 9,000 ft. above sea level, ready to barrel down into Cottonwood Heights and seal the deal on a trip to Boston.  I am well on my way, and with how training this week felt, I am very positive leading into the next several weeks of training.

Plugging in a 12 miler this week, and the upping my long runs by two miles every other week, will get me ready.  My legs feel recovered now from my marathons earlier this year, and the challenge of hill work is getting me tougher mentally and physically.

I want to conquer Big Cottonwood with the vigor of a first time marathoner on fresh legs.  I remember how green I was for my first in Myrtle Beach a few years ago.  I remember feeling ready, but not knowing what I was getting myself into.  I ran that beach course to my fullest capability, and barely walked away after clocking a 3:33 and change.  Beginners luck?  I’m not really sure, because I worked my ass off during training.  I earned that 3:33.  I bettered that time only once.  Last November at the City of Oaks in Raleigh.  3:32 was my time there.  To qualify for Boston I need better than a 3:25:00.  I am going to give it my all, and I have to remember that during each and every hot, sticky endurance draining run over the next two months.

I will get there.  I plan on getting there as prepared as possible, and letting my legs fly on race day.

9 thoughts on “Successful launch (Big Cottonwood & Boston)

  1. That is so amazing, you’ll get there! When I think of your running I just think dedicated machine. I often read your posts to my husband and we both sit here shaking our heads at all you manage to do!

    For your first marathon did you have a specific training program? I’ve been following your posts for a while now so if you have written about it please tell me the name of the post and I’ll go back and have a read. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

