…I Need A Vacation

What I am in serious need of is decompression time.  Time to sit, time to ponder and not have any obligations.  Time to do things for myself, and enjoy the things that mean the most to me.  That means family, that means running…. and cooking, hiking and breathing in the clean air.

image

I haven’t been on vacation since March.  Contrary to popular belief, even though I was at the beach last week, I worked about 46 hours, and barely had time to even see the ocean.  

image

What I need is some serious time in the mountains.  Time away from the terrible, oppressive heat and humidity.  It makes me think of the many times I have been to the mountains, and had the most relaxing vacations.  I’ve rented cabins or homes mostly, because we like to have the space to spread out, and also be able to cook.  A fully equipped kitchen is a must while on vacation.  I know, some of you may be saying, “there is no way I am cooking on vacation”.  I love to cook though, so I find it a necessity while on vacation in the mountains.  I would much rather cook than go out to eat constantly.

image

What I look forward to are the crisp, cool mornings.  A nice run, enjoying the sights and sounds of nature.  A good hike with family.  Taking pictures.  

Yeah, now I’ve got myself all worked up, yearning for the day this a Fall where I will be able to get away and enjoy “me time”.  Family time.

Luckily for me, I have time away planned for September.  A few months back I signed up for a Half Marathon in the Great Smoky Mountains.  This will be the weekend following the Big Cottonwood Marathon (another mountain getaway, yeah!) so extending my vacation to a full week and a half, and including two runs will be just amazing.  Vacation Races has several great National Park Half marathons on their event list, so check them out.  I am really excited about it.  I am now in the process of finding the perfect cabin to rent for a few days so that I have time to relax while in Tennessee, as well.

image

While I am enduring long, tedious training runs in the North Carolina heat of Summer, I guess I just have to dream about my upcoming vacations, and hold tight, knowing that they will be here before I know it.  

Do you run while on vacation?  Maybe you plan your vacations around a race?  I like to be able to do it all while on vacation.  Relax and run.  How about you?

10 thoughts on “…I Need A Vacation

  1. Vacations rock. I’m looking forward to my mountain trip this weekend, but at least the cold front came through yesterday and it’s not as disgusting out! And as for running on vacation, it’s nice to be able to choose whether I run or not, not HAVING to train.

  2. though i hope to sneak in a summer getaway (ideally planned around a race) my next vacation is the week of thanksgiving. my daughter and i are going to italy for me to run the florence marathon! i am so stinking excited!!! i’d love to spend all my time traveling, running in new places.

  3. I could go for a vacation also… I’m off to the beach this weekend and am excited to get a quality non-jogging-stroller run! I’m much more of a beach person than mountain person, but I haven’t been to the mountains in a while and am kinda itching for some new scenery… That biltmore marathon is looking more and more appealing…

  4. Totally agree, love to have self-contained accommodation as we call it in Australia when on holidays/vacation. That way we can stick to our healthy eating. What you describe with the cool mornings and mountains is our farm! We sit right under the mountains and even in the middle of summer if we get up early its cool and crisp. I feel for you running in all that heat at the moment, we are battling rain and/or frosts right now. But give me cool running weather over warm any day. I hope you have a wonderful vacation and wonderful runs! Sounds like you really need the break.

Leave a Reply

