Wet Dog

I know it’s Summer.  I also know that thunderstorms happen quite frequently here in my neck of the woods, but seriously.  Why do I work all day, look forward to getting my run in after work, to have it rain nonstop all afternoon and evening.  Today isn’t the first time it’s happened either.

It really bums me out, because I truly despise running in the rain.  The heavy rain tapered off quite a bit in the early evening, but I was just not into it by then.  Plus… it was still drizzling.  Not a fan of that, either.  Not a fan of getting my running shoes wet.

I’ve been out there in the rain before, but typically don’t start my run in the rain.  I try to wait it out.  In fact, several years ago, back when I was putting in serious training for my first ever Half Marathon.  Yeah, back when I really didn’t know what I was doing training wise, I mapped out a plan to run up to eleven miles, about a week before my first half.  I really wanted to go into that first race however, knowing that I was fully capable of running 13.1 miles.  So, on the day of my last long run, the eleven miler, I set out.  It was threatening rain, but hadn’t started yet.  I felt great.  The weather was holding.  I got up to 6, then 7, then 8 miles.  I started thinking that since I felt so good, I was going to just go ahead and tack on the extra 2.1 miles at the end and make it official.  I was going to put in that 13.1.  Miles 9, and 10 ticked by, and then suddenly…..  Hard rain! 

But, I was going to do it.  It was a damn river out there.  I fought hard, completely drenched, but knocked out those miles.  In the torrential downpour.  It felt great afterward, but I was not happy those final two miles.  I guess ever since, I am just not a fan of running in the rain.  It always makes me angry.  My feet hurt, and blister easy in wet shoes.  The rain in my eyes.  Wet clothes and chaffing.  Yep, not fun.  It makes me feel like a wet dog.  

image

So, tonight’s run is scrapped.  I guess another rest day won’t hurt.  I just hope that the downbeat weather forecast is cooperative tomorrow morning before I have to head to work.  I would like to get in at least three to four miles tomorrow before my next long run on Sunday.

how do you feel about running in the rain?  Love it?  Hate it?

11 thoughts on “Wet Dog

  1. I don’t mind if it’s a drizzle. In fact, that feels pretty good especially with this heat. But I won’t run if it’s really bad outside, that’s why I have a gym membership… I’ll just do a class and put my long run off a day or so (which I prefer over doing it on the treadmill, but I’ve done that too…).

    I hate running in cold rain and I won’t do that at all… don’t wanna risk getting sick and having to take multiple days off!

  2. I thought I was the only one who doesn’t like heavy rain..? I really don’t mind if its a light drizzle or id I’m 3/4 of the way through a run at least at that stage I’m warm,:) as for the gym.. Its hard enough buying a pair of running shoes let alone paying for gym membership. My gym is the road and trails. So sadly if it rains I’m confined to the house but I suppose resting up is also good sigh.

  3. I’m not a fan of running in the rain, but unfortunately sometimes it has to be done. I’m a morning runner, but when it’s forecast to rain in the morning I have a lie in. The worst thing is when the forecast is wrong and it does train and I spend my whole day at work wishing I’d got up and gone in the morning. Inevitably, the rain comes in the late afternoon so I don’t go after work either.

  4. I just chickened out of the rain the other day. I apparently decided to run during the only hour in day that it would be thunder storming. It was a track day so I didn’t feel like being around all that metal, but I had to bike home and I could barely see! I feel your frustration. I hate running in the rain. Wet socks are the WORST.

Leave a Reply

