Losing a beloved race

Last night I was digging through my closet for a shirt to put on after showering, and found one that made me a bit sad.  I have a plethora of race shirts that are not tech shirts for casual wear, as probably most of you do as well.  Well, sometimes these can be the best sort of shirts to get from a race because you can wear them with a pair of shorts, or jeans and just kick around in them.  The one I found last night I had made at an expo last Fall.  

image

Putting on this shirt was more of just a reminder of a race that is no longer being run.  After the first running of the marathon distance, one that I truly enjoyed, this long standing race suddenly and unexpectedly pulled the plug.  The Half and 5k had been run for years, and only last year did they decide for the first time to add the full marathon.  It was a beautiful and challenging course in Asheville, North Carolina.  I conquered those hills and had a blast.  

The reason for pulling the plug?  The race didn’t make enough money to properly “give back” to the chosen charities.  Main sponsor pulled out because of bad press, and that’s all she wrote.  I will miss it!  I’m sure others will as well.  It was well run, organized and seemed to have plenty of support from the community.  I planned on going back to try to better my time on the course.  

As I put on this shirt last night I began to wonder how many other great races no longer exist.  For whatever the reason, a great race lives on in our memories forever, even the ones that are lost.  Do you have any races that hold great memories for you that you no longer get the chance to run because they no longer are being run?  Please share…

I’m just glad I spent the extra money to have this shirt made, and plan on wearing it proudly for years to come.

3 thoughts on “Losing a beloved race

  1. A lady I am friends with held a race in memory of her son who passed away for the past 5 years, Race for Taylor 5K/10k. This year, she said it would be the last year of the race. It grew and got a lot of people into running and had a big following for a small town. I really can’t imagine her pain in organizing it each year with having to deal wit h her son’s death a few years ago, but I am sad to see it go. It did give back to local charities and organizations as well. Like you, I have lots of good memories of that race, including PRing there twice.

    I like the shirts that you can wear casually too! Sometimes I like to wear my race shirts around town anyway.

    • Absolutely. I am always disappointed when I attend an expo where I can’t buy a cotton shirt, when the race provides a technical shirt. I am maxed out on tech shirts, a lot of them being super uncomfortable to run in.

  2. I’ve run a few 5 and 10ks that I loved (one was called the “Get Your Sassy Back” and raised money for a women’s shelter), but they folded after the first year or two because those races didn’t raise enough money. I guess it’s a risk that comes with the territory of deciding to organize a race, but it’s always a little sad.

Leave a Reply

