Bittersweet weekend – College is beckoning

It’s really hard to believe that I became a father for the first time over 18 years ago.  How is it that my oldest son has grown up so quickly, yet I seem to not have aged a bit?  Lol, not really.  Definitely more gray, and surely wiser, as well.  Life teaches us so many lessons, and I can only hope I taught my son great lessons along his path, as well.

image

This weekend is move in weekend at North Carolina State University.  A huge step in his life, and really a life changing step for me, as well.  I am losing one of my best friends this weekend to college life.  My only wish is that he be successful, and really soak up the college experience.  It really is a privilege to go to college, and the learning he is embarking on will hopefully sustain him later in life in a career that brings him much joy.

image

From today forward, I will not get to spend nearly as much time with him.  Instead, he will be making new friends, studying way more than he ever needed to in Highschool, attending college games, and becoming an adult more and more everyday.  I wish him a world of success, and hope he remembers that Dad can still be a mentor, and that I will always be here for him.  I hope we become even closer as he ages and becomes a successful man himself.

The nest is a little quieter this weekend, a little less cluttered, but a whole lot prouder.

Dylan, remember that Dad loves you, and I am here for you always.

……sigh……

 

8 thoughts on “Bittersweet weekend – College is beckoning

  1. Congrats to Dylan :). I hope he has a wonderful time at NC State. It is college move-in weekend here too, and I used to volunteer at my alma mater when I lived in that town (Florence, FMU). It’s definitely a day of mixed emotions but a pretty exciting life change.

    • He worked hard. NC State has always been his first choice for colleges, so he is pretty excited to be one of the Pack! I have a feeling he will be buying me a “Wolfpack Dad” sticker for my car. He is pretty proud, and I’m sure he will take this experience by the horns and really succeed.

  2. Congrats to Dylan :). I hope he has a wonderful time at NC State. It is college move-in weekend here too, and I used to volunteer at my alma mater when I lived in that town (Florence, FMU). It’s definitely a day of mixed emotions but a pretty exciting life change.

  3. i spent yesterday evening at my daughter’s high school orientation. i’m dumbfounded that she’s reached that milestone. i can only imagine how you’re feeling as your son goes off to college. time goes by way too quickly but as parents these next steps in our children’s lives can give us such extreme joy even if they are bittersweet. best of luck to your son as he starts this wonderful new adventure!

  4. Agreed with the wise comments of unsportywomancanrun:) I have a good friendship with my oldest who is also going into highs school. Wow! How time flies.. He was only a baby not so long ago? Anyways it’s a new step in the unknown for him and a proud moment for you Paul:)

Leave a Reply

