Big Cottonwood Training Update

As most of you probably know already, I am running to qualify for Boston at the Revel Big Cottonwood marathon next month in Utah.  With officially under four weeks left, my training has been spot on.  Here is an update so far for August….

image

I’ve gotten a run in 14 days so far in the month.  I am actually taking today off, as I have run the last six days, and need a break.  I have the next two days off from work, so it’s the perfect time to try to squeeze in my last long run of the training cycle.  Then, it’s taper.  Actually I have a built in taper planned, in Las Vegas in a few weeks.  I will not be doing any running at all while there.

My last long run of 17 miles went pretty well.  I will try for 19 tomorrow or Wednesday, depending on the weather.  My short burst, and downhill training have been going great.  Increasing my strides to take advantage of the downhills, and building endurance on the uphills.  I really do feel good, except for my nagging hamstrings, which are extremely irritating most days.  I will take some time off this winter to deal with them once and for all.  

This past week consisted of six moderately short runs.  All hill based, and hell bent for downhill speed.  Having already run five marathons this year, one Half, one 10 miler, and one each 10k and 5k race, I know I can knock out the distance come race day.  My focus has been solely on working my quads.  I’ve been told by many this is the most important part of training for a downhill race such as a Big Cottonwood.  I want to be as ready as I can be.  I really want to go for it on September 13th, and have no regrets.

I truly have been trying to lose that five pounds I told you about in an earlier post.  Less ice cream, and a better diet overall have helped.  I have lost three pounds, and feel confident that with smart decisions over the next few weeks, that I will be right on target.  I typically hover around 170 pounds, and I would like to be at or near 165 on race day.  

So, as the countdown to Cottonwood continues, so does my commitment to finishing training as healthy as possible.  I am not sure that I have ever been so focused on one race.  Sometimes I have to pinch myself as a reminder that I have a big Fall season planned with many races, not just Big Cottonwood.  I am running the Chicago Marathon for God sake!  I can’t forget about that amazing adventure.  And Greensboro Full, and some Halves, as well.  

I love running!  I love racing!  I love marathons!  

 

6 thoughts on “Big Cottonwood Training Update

Leave a Reply

