Happy Feet? No, I’m not a dancing penguin, I’m a runner.

Progressing toward a month of over 100 miles of training, and very few days off from work, my feet are tired.  I have had to work very hard to get them some rest.  Elevation has helped a lot, as well as spending some quiet evening on the couch.

image

As I struggle through the final days of training for my next marathon in a little over two weeks, my focus now is more on rest and recovery.  I need to make sure that my body is ready to conquer the next 26.2.  It was a beautiful morning today, and cool.  It was the type of morning that just screams get out and run.  I refrained.  I plan on running a smooth and pace focused five miler tomorrow morning, and I’ve run four days in a row.  Time for a rest day.

Vacation is looming.  Getting on the jet plane on Saturday morning, my thoughts are all about vacation.  I’ve worked six straight days, and work tonight, tomorrow and Friday before I can breath  a sigh of relief.  Can you believe that?  I have to work 9 days in a row leading up to vacation.  Well, most of the battle has been fought already, just three shifts to go.  The problem is that I work on my feet.  I don’t have a cush desk job.  My job is physical and demanding on my feet.  I know how to take care of them though.  This is nothing new to me.  

So my final wind down/taper is upon me.  Wow, can’t believe I haven’t even thought about how this is taper time.  Usually I go mad during the taper, but this time I will have vacation to distract me from taper blues.  

How long do you taper prior to a big race?  How do you fill those empty hours that you would have been out running?  I do know one thing, I am hoping for Happy feet come September 13th.  Happy hamstrings, too!  😉

6 thoughts on “Happy Feet? No, I’m not a dancing penguin, I’m a runner.

  1. It is very hard not to run when we have a freak “Fall day” in August. Mon-today have been like that in the morning and on Monday I did not run bc my foot hurt on Sunday (not running… hurt walking around the mall), so I took a day off. I ran a great 7 mile track run yesterday, foot didn’t hurt! Then today was also beautiful, and I would’ve run this morning except I am running with a friend tonight. Sometimes you have to fight the urge and hold back- and that can be hard! I think you have the marathon in the bag and a vacation is just waht you need to de-stress and hopefully have a great performance 🙂

Leave a Reply

