I didn’t qualify; but I’m ok

Now that a few days have passed since my BQ attempt at Big Cottonwood, with each passing day I am becoming more and more comfortable with the idea that I will not be at the 2015 Boston Marathon.  Looking at pictures from my days in Utah, how can I really be disappointed?  I ran an amazing race, my fourth best marathon out of 14 overall.  I got to see a new part of the country.  I got to run in beautiful natural surroundings.  At the end of the day, it was incredible.

image

image image image image image image image

As I sit here I can’t help but feel that it still stings a little bit, but soon enough I will be over it.  There will be other chances for Boston, just not next year.  All things happen for reasons though, so as I come to terms with it my focus turns to qualifying for 2016.

I still have a very busy fall running schedule.  I actually have two more marathons this fall, so I may qualify at one of those.  Maybe I won’t.  After giving it my all this past weekend in Utah, I am not sure I really have the legs to be honest.  It may have to wait until next year.  I’m ok with that.

Next up is Chicago.  Yes, running in Chicago will be just a treat.  I am looking forward to the crowd support and running the streets of Chicago, one of the big marathons in the world.  Time to turn my focus to that.  I just want to enjoy the marathon in its simplest form, feet on pavement.  I will run it keeping in mind how lucky I am to be healthy enough to run 26.2 miles.

14 thoughts on “I didn’t qualify; but I’m ok

  1. All I want to do is give you a big hug! I think you’re awesome, if you gave your all on the day then be really proud of yourself. There will be another time. The photos look so beautiful. All the best for Chicago. I love your blog.

  2. I think that you’re over thinking. You’re a brilliant ambassador for running but try and remember why you started running it wasn’t for trying to break the speed barrier it was for the love of running and how it made you feel and gave you perspective. I think if you can remember, that you’ll qualify this year. Just go out there and run don’t think of the race being but more that it’s another chance to wear great bling:):) take the pressure off of the main goal and focus on the lesser goal;)

Leave a Reply

