Smokies Half Marathon teaser

Yes, I survived.  I could barely walk at the beginning of this week, but I knocked out my 21st Half marathon today in beautiful Tennessee.

image

If you’ve never been to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, you are really missing out.  There is just something so majestic and beautiful about this area.  Sure, towns like Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg are very touristy and I would rather steer clear of both of them, perhaps it’s best to just drive through on your way to what they call “the quiet side of the Smokies”.  I am staying in a small town named Townsend, the host of today’s race.  I have been very impressed with this small, quiet town.

Vacation Races put on this inaugural race today, their first venture east of the Mississippi.  It turned out great.  As with any race, improvements can be made, but kudos to the race team and volunteers for putting on a top notch event.

I mean, come on, look at the setting for the outdoor race expo on Friday.  I mean, wow!

image

Do I pick up my bib here, or get married?

I have many, many photos to share, it’s just too early to wrap up my experience just yet.  My six hour car ride home tomorrow will be a good time to process my race, the entire experience, and I will share a full recap with you by Monday.

Today was a huge race day around our country,  Did you race today?

7 thoughts on “Smokies Half Marathon teaser

  1. It looks like a beautiful race. My friends was there representing at the expo and he facebooked some pics of the area. I’ve been there as a tourist but would love to run there one day. Can’t wait to read your full review.

Leave a Reply

