#Chimarathon Participant Guide comes in the mail

Two weeks from now it will all be over.  The Chicago Marathon is on October 12th, approaching at light speed. I really want to enjoy the time leading up to the race, and then thoroughly experience Chicago while I am there.  What better way to enjoy Chicago than on foot through all of its neighborhoods?

On Saturday, this came in the mail…..

image

It will go with me to packet pickup, along with my ID, to pick up my bib.  I’m starting in Corral D, bib # 12273.

Chicago will be my first of the World Marathon Majors, which also includes Tokyo, Boston, London, Berlin and New York.  Let me just say that unless I amass a large fortune in the coming years, Chicago may be the only Major I run.  Well, maybe NYC one day.  I cannot imagine how much it would cost to get to and from Tokyo to run the marathon there.  The Berlin Marathon was just held yesterday, I know someone who ran it.  Let me just say that it’s not a cheap trip from the States.  Boston?  I have to earn that one, and although not cheap, would probably be the most affordable.  But, I have to earn it.  I haven’t yet.  I’ve come close, but I’m not there yet.

So, Chicago awaits.  My recovery/training runs this past week were good.  The body feels better and better every day.  With my last marathon just two weeks ago, I am feeling pretty good about my recovery and prospects for a good race in Chicago.  September overall, has been a moderate to low mileage month for me because of the marathon a few weeks ago.  You can’t, well I can’t run multiple marathons during a season and back that up with high mileage training before and afterward.  I listen to my body, and react accordingly.  I want to have the legs to run Chicago, not burn them out.

Another interesting fact about October is that I have another marathon planned just six days after Chicago.  Wow, I’ve barely even thought about that.  Hummmm…..  Chicago first, Chicago is the focus.

3 thoughts on “#Chimarathon Participant Guide comes in the mail

  1. Im sure you’ll do even better with the Chicago. I think every marathon runner has their own way of training to be honest if I ran a marathon the next week or two I would be aiming for low easy mileage. Anyway have ab enormous amount of fun. Like I know you will;)

Leave a Reply

