Eight Minute Mile

Seems pretty simple, right?

image

As I sit here on a Sunday morning, another race day awaits.  Coffee in hand, considering the race ahead.    The Hallowed Half, my third year running it in a row.  I don’t think, in fact I know I haven’t run any other race three years in a row.  This race is cool, has great swag, and is just an all around fun time.

The 8:00 mile pace is what I am shooting for today.  I am pacing this event, gunning to bring my group to a 1:45:00 finish.  We have a beautiful morning for it.  Temperatures are in the upper 40’s right now, going up to about 70 today.  Yep, it’s almost November and we still have really nice weather.  Thankfully!  It’s actually supposed to get up to 80 on Tuesday.

Not sure why, but I have been nursing a wonky right ankle the past few days.  It actually feels like I pulled something.  I must have done it at work, because I didn’t feel this during my marathon last weekend.  Advil is my friend though, so hopefully it will calm down prior to the race.

I will be sure to take pictures, and put together a recap of the event tomorrow.  I have one goal today.  Even though I haven’t run an 8:00 minute pace lately, I am more than capable.  Last year I finished the race in 1:39:00, a full six minutes under what I am shooting for today.  Should be a breeze, right?  As long as my ankle holds up, we will conquer the hills of Wake Forest today, and have a blast doing it!

As we run our Halloween event today, I will be thinking of the many thousands of runners toeing the line at the Marine Corps Marathon in our Nations capital.  Good luck to all of you!

8 thoughts on “Eight Minute Mile

  1. That’s pretty awesome that you’re pacing that! I think if I run another half with pacers, I am going to just go with the 1:45 group. My PR is 1:49 but I’ve beat it in training runs (I don’t race half marathons with a bib and starting line very often). You can definitely handle 8 min/mile pace and it’ll make an awesome training run too.

  2. I made through the MCM yesterday still fighting the plantar fasciitis. I tolerated the first ten miles or so but it was very painful the rest of the way. Lack of some longer training runs coupled with warmer than anticipated weather added to my troubles, finishing around 5:15. This is not remotely in your league, but I was just very happy to finish. Can’t believe I’ve got Richmond in less than three weeks, but then a long break.

    • Wow! Congratulations on your MCM finish. I bet it was a very inspiring run. I hate running with PF. Once Richmond is over, please take a break to get it under control. You won’t regret it. It may be tough taking the time away from the pavement, but your feet will thank you. Best of luck in Richmond.

      • Thanks. I strongly encourage you to enter the lottery for the MCM. It really is an inspiring race, with the energy of the crowd, monuments/scenery, American flags, etc.

      • I believe the lottery is in March. You can also gain entry by completing the MC 1775, which I did last year, but it fills very quickly. DateAre on the MCM website.

Leave a Reply

