Unhappy Thanksgiving?

It’s always tough for me to get in the spirit of the holiday season.  Thanksgiving Day is supposed to usher in a season of goodwill, celebrations and thankfulness.  I’m sorry to admit it, but I’m just not feeling it.

image

Does it make me a bad person?  I’ve just been feeling a bit jilted lately.  Feeling sort of like this turkey looks.  The doldrums.  Maybe I have some sort of disorder.  Seasonal Affective Disorder.  Lack of sunshine, colder weather.  Shorter days.  I’m sorry, I just hate it.  I think I need to move to, and live on the Equator.

image

Can I please just live here?  Yep, I’m feeling distant, disgusted and moody today.  I think walking across this bridge right now would help uplift my spirit.  I’m feeling a very ungrateful Thanksgiving in my future.

7 thoughts on “Unhappy Thanksgiving?

  1. I’m not feeling it this year either. Family issues which escalated in August will make the day uncomfortable. I would rather snuggle up on my couch and let it pass by. But, we all know that isn’t going to happen. Hope your day isn’t as bad as you anticipate…or you get on that plane to walk across that bridge!

  2. I hope you feel better soon! Our schools here are out all week and I see pictures of my friends vacationing with their kids in the Caribbean or at Disney and I’m kinda jealous! It has been rainy and dreary in Charleston for a few days too. Hopefully we get some sunshine and that may make you feel better 🙂

    • Just takes me a while to adjust to this cold, rainy, dark mess of a season. Plus work is a complete nightmare during the holiday season. Puts me in a bad mood almost daily. That’s why I run tho, right?

  3. urgh! i think i suffer from S.A.D. too… its REAL baby, its real… my mood suddenly lifts at the first glimmer of a blue sky and bright sunshine… the cold doenst worry me, but when its wet, dark AND cold… yikes, it really gets to me xxx hang in there… we will all be ‘buzzing’ soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

