2015- Marathon Calendar

As 2014 comes to a close in just a little over a month, the focus for many runners out there is picking which races will fill the calendar in the year to come.  How does one choose?  There are so many factors that go into the decision making process.

Do you choose races based on price?  How about location?  Do you look for races within driving distance, or is a destination race including airfare not out of the question?  Do you choose races based on the course?  Big races, small races, races for charity?  PR chances?  With so many options out there for racing at any distance, the possibilities are endless.

What have you chosen?

Here’s look at some of my choices….

image

I chose this one based on proximity to family.

Asheville in March…. and All American a week later.  Yes please….  North Carolina races.  One about four hours away in the mountains, the other a military event about an hour from home.

image

image

Looking forward to returning to both of these events.  Both tried and true.  Awesome races!

Up until this point in my “marathon career”, I’ve raced 16 marathons.  Each one of them has been different.  Looking at these three races, I have run each of them one time before.  It’s time for me to return and try to better my times.  Can you believe I haven’t repeated any marathons up until now?  Wow, it’s true.

I do however need a new race for 2015, and for that I am looking at the New River Marathon, in Todd, NC.  Another event in the mountains, the beautiful area near Boone.  A small race by comparison to many others, this race has a real small town feel.  At least that’s what I’ve heard.

image

I am not 100% decided yet! but really want to run this one!

I need to jump on an airplane this Summer, and head to a Revel event.  This year was Big Cottonwood in Utah, next July I am planning on Revel Rockies in Denver.  Destination, and PR chance, to boot.

image

This will be my attempt at Boston 2016.  Let’s see if I can make it happen.

Next Fall?  Gosh, I haven’t given it a ton of thought just yet.  Solidifying the next six months has been more critical right now.  Oh, how I would love to return to Chicago again.  Big Cottonwood?  Would absolutely love to run that one again, but does money grow on trees?  I have to remember that I can’t do it all.  I did enter a contest to get into the New York City Marathon next year, but that will probably never happen.  Can’t hurt thinking about it though, right?

Well, that’s where I’m at with my planning right now.  Have you decided on any big races for next year yet?  It’s such a great time for planning, and remember….  many races are offering Black Friday discounts not only tomorrow, but throughout the rest of the weekend.

Happy planning!  Let me know if you’ve found a can’t miss race that I need to try to squeeze into my schedule.  Happy Thanksgiving!  Have you said your thanks for the ability to run today?  I know I have.

10 thoughts on “2015- Marathon Calendar

  1. I entered that same NYC Marathon contest I think. I think winning a free entry into a marathon would be the only way I’d do one. I ran one and it was enough for me. Hilton Head seems like a great race and I have some friends running the full, half, and 5K. If I don’t PR at Charleston then I may do HHI half since I know so many people going down there for it. That’s so neat that you haven’t repeated marathons yet!

    • You probably did. We can cross our fingers, right? I was talking to a friend in NYC today via FaceTime, and he said, ” you need to come run NY, and stay with me here in Brooklyn”. It’s so hard to get into NYC. Wishing us both luck. As far as Hilton Head is concerned, my Mom lives about a five minute drive from the start/finish line, so it’s really a no brainer. Keep me posted on if you end up running down there. Prices don’t increase until Jan. 1st, so I haven’t signed up yet, but will. I hope your Charleston race goes really well! And I hope it’s not as windy and cold this year.

  2. I’m hoping to do a half and a full next year.. Hopefully I’ll be able to scrape the money together or just carry on the way I am until things get sorted..As long as I am running I don’t care ;);) all the best with next year Paul

Leave a Reply

