Beverly Hills Marathon (well, kinda)

February is here!  Finally, after a long cold January, another cold month to endure.  But, we are closer to Spring, and that is what’s important.  Thinking about warmer days is the only thing getting me through.  Well that and the fact that my next marathon is now just a short six days away.

image

Do any of you remember the movie Beverly Hills Cop?  How about the theme song from that movie?  Glenn Frey?  One of the best songs!  The Heat is On!  I heard this song on my XM radio this past week, and began to sing it like it was just released.  Ok, I love 80’s music.

As I listened to that song, singing away, it really hit home that now is the time.  The final days before a race are such a stress filled, anticipatory feeling.  Nerves are on edge, and final mental preparations are being nailed down.  The heat really is on.

image

I’m now sure about how others do it, but I typically adopt a theme, or mantra before running a race.  “Dig Deep” is one that I have used in use past, and have given to others.  (Annie, I’m talking about you!). I already have a theme picked out for a race later this year.  Rocky Mountain High, by the late John Denver, when I run Revel Rockies Marathon high up in the Colorado Rockies.  But since this race is being run in the winter, and the forecast is a chilly 48 degrees, the theme song to Beverly Hills Cop fits perfectly.

image

I have to show the heat!  “The heat is on….. on the street”.  I have to show a bit of fire on the ice.  Even though my race won’t be in Beverly Hills, I will be channeling my inner Glenn Frey and Eddie Murphy.  Could be fun!

What mantra do you run with?  Do you have a particular theme you always run with, or do you change it up depending on the race?

7 thoughts on “Beverly Hills Marathon (well, kinda)

  1. I’ve actually never prepared a mantra for a race, but perhaps I should do that for my next one. Usually, the default mantra becomes “don’t give up, don’t fail.” But those are inherently a little negative. Perhaps I will design one specifically for the marathon I’m running in April. Could be useful to do, since I really want to get in the 3:45s
    Good luck during the rest of your taper. Don’t go crazy. 😉

  2. As soon as you said “Beverly Hills Cop” I thought of “Axle F”. And him putting the banana in the tail pipe of that car. Haha! Great to have a theme for a race. During training, it’s “get comfortable with being comfortable” and I hadn’t thought of one DURING the race. I guess I just try and focus and do what I trained to do. Be Fearless. There, that’s mine now 🙂 You’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

