Island Marathon

Well, my seven day stretch at work is finally over.  Maybe now I can rest my feet up for the marathon this Saturday.

A, eh, yep, only two days away from Marathon #17.  God, that’s sounds frightening!  It does, and it doesn’t.  Helps that I have some experience.  I’ve been sublimating my stress with dark chocolate.  It doesn’t help that Valentine Candy is more than readily available everywhere you look.

image

So tomorrow I am hitting the road for the drive to southern South Carolina.  Hilton Head Island is the destination.  Having run 16 all unique and different marathons all over, this will be the first time I will be running the same marathon a second time.

image

I got the pre-race email this afternoon.  My bib # is 1103.  Trying to find some meaning in that number, but I haven’t come up with anything yet.

As I type this I truly can’t believe that it is only two days away!  My 16 year old son is accompanying me on this trip.  He is running the 5k, as his next big race is a Half Marathon in March.  This will be a good test of his legs.  Wondering if he can beat his time from last year, which is his PR.

image

In any event, I am looking forward to the trip, the race on Saturday, and the relaxation on the beach immediately following.

4 thoughts on “Island Marathon

Leave a Reply

