Double Agent reporting for duty!

Back when I began my running journey during the Summer of 2010, I had no idea where it would take me.  I truly just started running as a way to get more exercise.  I had turned 40, and didn’t want to let my body go.  Running quickly became my “go to” form of exercise.

It wasn’t like I had laced up to run for the first time in 2010, I had run a few races dating back to 1995, but 2010 is when I really fell in love with the sport.  I turned a mild affection for this form of exercise into a real passion.  I started racing again in 2011, starting slowly.  In April that year I ran a 5k with my sons.  I finished 1st in my age group.  I caught the bug!  Two months later, and two races later, I set my 5k PR which still stands at 20:44.

For some reason, I yearned for more distance.  Two weeks later I ran my first 8k.  In July I found a 10k down at the beach, and made a weekend out of it.  Wow, this distance thing is fun!  Soon enough my brother convinced me to try a Half Marathon.  I trained for the next eight weeks, and in late September that same year, I ran a 1:41:38 in Jersey City, NJ.  Maybe views of the Statue of Liberty and Manhattan across the river inspired my run.  Loving this!

I wanted to run more halves!  I found another, on Thanksgiving Day.  And since I was going to be in Las Vegas a few weeks later, I decided to run Rock ‘n’ Roll, as well.  So, with a 1:35:33 at the Skinny Turkey Half, and a 1:43:23 in Las Vegas 10 days later, I was hooked.

image

I also became a Half Fanatic, 3 in 90 days.  Three different states, too!  My official # is 1699.

The distance bug returned during the next few weeks.  Could I possibly take the next step and attempt a full marathon?  I decided to try.  I trained the next eight weeks, and with a trip to Myrtle Beach, notched my first marathon finish on February 18th, 2012.  I loved it!  I ran two more marathons before the end of 2012.

I continued running halves, but also started seeking out more marathons.  I ran 9 Halves and 5 Full’s in 2013, including my last two races of the year being two Full’s two weeks apart.  I wanted more….

2014 brought five marathons in the first five months, overall 8 for the year, including Chicago and Greensboro just six days apart!

image

I decided to finally make it official this week, even though I qualified last year.  My official number is #11142.

So yes, with my MM status, I instantly become a double agent.  A member of both clubs.

I can tell you a few things.  I never started this running journey with any expectations in mind.  I’ve just fallen in love with how running makes me feel.  I never set out to become a member of either of these clubs, but because I love running and racing so much, it just happened.  I guess they are a part of my running resume now.  Looking at my races, I guess I really can be considered fanatical, and now even maniacal about running.

Merriam-Webster-

Maniacal – 1. Affected with or suggestive of madness. 2. Characterized by ungovernable excitement or frenzy.

I am kinda mad about running!

2 thoughts on “Double Agent reporting for duty!

  1. Congrats on “officially” becoming a double agent (even though you rocked it last year). Make sure you’ve got your info (name/e-mail) filled out and matching on both sites as next week they’re creating double agent #s for us all (and they’ve got a shirt coming out.

Leave a Reply

