Rocky Mountain High

Travel plans are all set, and I am ready for another crazy running adventure!

July 17th will find me on an airplane heading west.  First stop?  Denver.

I’ll grab my bag, hit the rental car desk, and head out.  Destination?  Aspen, high up in the Colorado Rockies.  I am so looking forward to it, although I’ll be driving it at night, and I won’t have a bunch of views until morning.  Probably won’t get much sleep, but it will be worth it.

I am pacing the 2:15 Half the following morning at Aspen Valley.

image

I am utterly beside myself, it will be so much fun!  Love pacing!  Have never paced a half over a two hour finish, so this should be a nice warm up for the big show on Sunday morning.

After Aspen on Saturday morning, I will be heading back east toward Denver.  Stopping off in the foothills for the Revel Rockies marathon expo.  Yes, I should probably change my clothes first, and douse myself in cologne and deodorant since I won’t have the chance to shower first.

At the expo, I will be meeting up with a bunch of other race ambassadors, and grab my team shirts to pass out.  To date, I have had 20 runners from all around the country sign up on my Revel team.  One had to drop out due to injury, and others may still join, but right now the number sits at 19.  The race offers custom team shirts for team of 12 or more.  I can’t wait to see it, and show it here on my blog.  I’ve seen the mock up, and it’s going to be really awesome to run in it.

After the expo, hopefully a quiet night in preparation for my marathon the next morning.

image

I ran Revel Big Cottonwood last Fall, and it was incredible from beginning to end.  The Rockies event will be just as amazing I’m sure.  If I’m feeling good, I will be going for a BQ.  If not, there will be other races. Not going to stress about it, this crazy weekend is all about having fun.

I don’t plan on indulging in any cannabis, but these two races back to back should give me a Rocky Mountain High like no other!  After the marathon on Sunday, I’ll chill and relax with my team and other ambassadors before heading back to the airport in the early evening for the non-stop flight back to Raleigh.  Just blogging about it, is getting me so excited.  Looking at the calendar, I head to Colorado on this epic adventure just five short weeks from today!

2 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain High

Leave a Reply

