Runcation Commences NOW!

I don’t go back to work for another 176 hours.  That’s a full week off!

I needed it desperately!  It’s been damn six months since I could say that I am on vacation. This kind of vacation is the best kind, too.  It includes not one, but two races.  It includes air travel, a rental car, and all the fun I can have packed into a few days.

image

I am officially on RUNCATION!  I actually don’t leave until Friday early in the evening, but I am officially on break.

First order of business is a short run this evening when the suns brilliant rays duck down behind the trees.  I need a shaded 90 degree run, since it’s going to be hot regardless.  After that?  Not much.  No plans the rest of the night.  Unless you call laying on the couch with my two chihuahuas date night.

I have had a serious lack of sleep the past three nights, and I plan on remedying that tonight and tomorrow night.  You see, I need to catch up.  This weekends trip to Colorado won’t offer me much down time, or sleep, so I need to catch up with myself and bank a few hours before I leave.

image

I actually won’t arrive in Denver until about 8pm on Friday evening.  Then I have a four hour drive to Aspen before settling in for the night.  I won’t get much sleep, as it’s an early wake up call to pace the Aspen Valley Half Marathon on Saturday morning.

image

After running through some absolutely picturesque scenery, it’s a drive back to Golden, Colorado.  Marathon #20 on Sunday morning before traveling home that evening.

I just can’t believe this runcation is finally here.  Seems like it’s been in the works for years.  I’ll try to keep my blog updated the best I can over the next week, since I have two races to recap afterward.  Luckily I was smart enough to not return to work next Monday morning.  I will have two days to rest and recover from an epic running weekend.  Plenty of time to rest my feet after 39.3 miles of racing in the Colorado Rockies.

I think it best, now that I am really starting to soak it in, that I plan a runcation every year.  One that’s not just a weekend getaway.  Don’t get me wrong, I love those, too.  It just really feels amazing that I have this time off, and get to do what I love (running) at the same time.  Yes, a week long runcation is necessary for my mental health.  How about you?  How often do you take vacations?  Have you ever taken a vacation just because you wanted to run?

8 thoughts on “Runcation Commences NOW!

  1. Hoping for smooth travels and fast legs!!! Have a great time and will be thinking of you this weekend. We just got back from our whirlwind two weeks out of town and I need a rest from it. Thousands of miles traveled, hotels, friends, family, late nights, all that stuff. I got in some good running and a little biking and barely any swimming, but oh well, back at it today! Have some good sleep and save travels to you!

  2. Good luck. I can’t wait to see how you do. I’ve only done one run-cation and it was a weekend in Charlotte. My husband and I both ran a 5K. We won the trip (then had to pay a crazy amount of taxes on it, yuck). I’d love to do another one someday even if it’s some place close.

  3. Enjoy running at the higher elevation. I just went to Boulder to run last month but we here in Albuquerque are just as high as there @ about 5400 ft. Good Luck and enjoy the mountains.

Leave a Reply

