GO Commando! Is there really any other way?

I’ve been reading a bunch of articles lately on what runners wear when they run.  I seriously cannot imagine wearing underwear when running, but I guess some people do.  The percentages are very interesting.

image

Runner’s World magazine has a kinda gross, kinda interesting article about portopotties.  After reading it last night, it made me want to blog about the “necessities”, or “nature calls” down and dirties that us runners face.

For the guys, do you free-ball it, or wear bike shorts underneath your running shorts?  Jock strap, underwear?  I think the only way to go is au naturale.  I just can’t even imagine the chaffing involved by wearing anything other than nothing underneath my running shorts.  And if you don’t want to see the bounce effect, well, don’t look!

image

How about it ladies?  Do you go commando when you run?  Seems like it would be the easiest thing.  I saw a few female backsides at my last marathon, and let me tell you, these ladies were not shy.  I think us runners know how it works.  We just try to respect privacy as best we can when we are emptying our bladders one last time before the gun goes off.  I’ve seen more private parts at races than I’ve seen in the bedroom.  It doesn’t bother me, it’s just what happens at races.  Please tell me you aren’t one of those shy people that will not use nature, and insists on standing in that dreadfully long porta-potty line.

That leads me to the next topic.  The dreaded porta-potty.  Luckily I am a guy, let me just say that right off the bat.  It’s easier for us, I know,  Having a urinal right in there means not having to touch anything.  I don’t even touch the door handles on the outside or inside.  I use my shirt to cover my hand when opening and locking and unlocking the door.  Do you?  Please say yes!  Please tell me you lock it, too!

Let’s face it, these port o johns are just NASTY.  The lines are most often ridiculous, and why is everything in there wet and gross?  I know most folks that have to go #2 do the old hover routine.  I mean, who would want to sit their ass on that thing?  Gross!  If it can’t be avoided, and you happen to look down into the horrible abyss, hopefully it won’t have been used more than 1,280 times, or it would be overflowing onto your nice new running shoes.  If you’ve caught a glance of that tank below, you’ve noticed that it’s blue down there.  Why?  It’s a masking agent, limiting your view of the complete nastiness.  Thank God for the blue dye, tell yourself the next time you slide down your shorts, and hover.

I encourage you to read the article in the magazine.  It has more info than you could ever want to know about the Porta-Potty.  It’s really quite interesting.

Pease feel free to share any horror stories you may have had with the dreaded business of when nature calls right before a race.  I’d love to hear them!

7 thoughts on “GO Commando! Is there really any other way?

  1. I’d much rather just wear shorts with a liner than undies and shorts. Wedgies are the worst. You’re right, porta potties are nasty, but a necessity. I have been known to find a bush (anywhere!) before a race instead of getting in that line for the disgustingness that awaits. Oh, and lady runners have long perfected the hover, so no bum touches the seat 🙂

  2. I’m not your typical girl and lack a lot of class when it comes to these things. I go commando and will go to the bathroom wherever – I try my best to find a discreet place but when you have to go…I have some pretty funny pre race stories about places I’ve peed. I think porta johns are gross but I’m not above using one!

  3. Kudos to you for tackling a topic many of us prefer not to think about but really – Hello, you nailed it exactly when discussing pre-race calls of nature!

Leave a Reply

