Oh, Chicago

12 days from today I will be running my second Chicago Marathon.  I can’t believe that the time has flown by so quickly since finding out I got in through the lottery two years in a row.  I had to jump at the chance to run it again.  It was such a blast last year, going back was a no brainer.

image

I remember the race so well, even now almost a year later.  The sights, the sounds, the crowds and support!  The route, ever changing from neighborhood to neighborhood, welcoming me as I ran through it.  There was so much to see and enjoy during this race that my running almost felt effortless.  The race day weather last year was perfect, and before I knew it, all 26.2 miles were behind me in 3 hours and 41 minutes.

image

Would I like to better my time from last year?  Sure!  Do I think I will this time around?  Probably not.  Why?  I just have this feeling that this time around that I will be taking in the scenery and crowd support even more than last year, and just won’t be as focused on my finish time.  We’ll see.  My best marathon this year has been a 3:46, so beating my time at last years Chicago Marathon would give me my best marathon in 2015 by a good bit.

Chicago, the city, made a huge impression on me last year.  Walking all over the city, eating the food, people watching, shopping, all great experiences.  It was a new place for me a year ago.  This time around I have some knowledge.  I already know some places I want to return to, and I’ve done some studying up on new places I want to visit.  My Official Participant Guide came in the mail yesterday, so it is all very real all over again.

At this moment, in 12 days I will be finished with the race.  Basking in the glory of my 21st marathon finish.  Two weeks from now I will be back home, and working on being completely focused on 22, the anew York City Marathon, which is 33 days from today.  Wow, what an exciting five weeks ahead.

What about you?  Will I see you in Chicago or New York this Fall?  Traveling to any races?  What’s on your calendar?

15 thoughts on “Oh, Chicago

  1. That’s awesome that you get to run in Chicago again. I have yet to attempt a marathon, but I’m slowly working my way into having the 10k distance be “my thing”. I lived in Chicago for a little over a year a long time ago and I’m so sad now that I didn’t get out and go watch the marathon. Back then I wasn’t a runner, so it makes sense that I wouldn’t have watched, but now I’d jump at the chance to just even watch it! Next race for me is a local charity race in November, then my “birthday” race in December before attempting the Hot Chocolate 15k in San Francisco. I plan to do at least 1 half marathon next year as well but not sure which one yet!

  2. I can’t wait to see how you do in Chicago. I’ve never run a big marathon, but like you, if I ran somewhere like Chicago or a city I’ve never visited, I would want to take in the sights and enjoy it rather than shooting for a BQ (I could probably PR regardless as I’ve only run one ‘thon and it was ugly). I haven’t been to Chicago and it’s somewhere I’d like to visit.

    I am running a half marathon on Oct. 10 then the James Island Connector Run here in town on Oct. 24, that’s all I have coming up.

  3. Yep, I’ll be there…again. Love the race, people, city and atmosphere. I’ve got a few more lined up. One in Nov, Dec, Jan and Feb. then Big Sur in April. I look for ya in Chicago!

  4. I’ll be one of your 45000 or so running buddies in less than two weeks! Will be my first visit to Chicago and my fifth marathon overall in my fourth state…I just got my own blog started to track my long journey to run a marathon in every state.
    See you in a couple weeks!!
    Cheers
    Jamed

Leave a Reply

