Sick as a Dog!

It’s always this time of year.  Sometime between the beginning of November and Christmas.  Sickness befalls me.  The rest of the year I am typically as healthy as a horse, in fact I think my average for getting sick is about once a year.  Now happens to be that time.

image

It began with a tickle.  A bit of a strange scratchy feeling in the back of my throat on Saturday evening.  I could tell something was awry.  I hoped it was just dust and allergies causing it, because I had been digging around in the attic getting down Christmas decorations and tree ornaments.  I woke up on Sunday feeling just a little bit worse.

Monday rolled around, after barely being able to sleep on Sunday night, and I felt like a freight train had barreled through me.  I felt like I had the Flu!  Couldn’t be that though, because I get the Flu shot yearly, and had just been inoculated about three weeks prior.  It must just be a bad cold.  I struggled through Monday, but it was bearable because I had the day off from work,  Tuesday?  Now that was another story.  I about fell out by the time I got home from work.  Pure crazy sick!

Today hasn’t been much better.  Every year I get sick around this time and it’s curious to me.  How come it always coincides with a downtime in my training regime?  Every time this happens I’ve been “taking some time off”.  A running vacation of the non-running kind, if you will.  I think it’s sort of strange that as soon as I stop running, which only happens in late November and December, my body at rest, picks up an illness.  I swear to God, if I was training for a marathon right now, I wouldn’t have gotten sick.

Thoughts?

image

Had to put in a sick chihuahua photo, since I own two of them.

13 thoughts on “Sick as a Dog!

  1. You could still have the flu, I got the flu shot last year and still got it. It was a different strain. You should get tested for it. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Hope you’re feeling better soon. My Pauly often comes down with something when he’s on holidays (vacation). My take on it that we have to keep going, keep working, keep doing our thing, but when we have time to actually relax the immune system does too. I think this happens particularly for busy people who never have down time – the moment they get just a little their whole systems flops.

  3. I think you need to keep training for marathons 🙂 Seriously though that totally sucks and hope you get better soon so you can get back out there.

  4. A lot of people have been sick lately. I think it’s the temperature changes (the heat seemed to stick around big time this year) as well as everyone training really hard and our immune systems getting down. I hope you feel better soon!

  5. I just got sick too, and it was a similar response to taking a mini running vacation. That thing about staving off illness while on training must be true. It felt worse for me too… Also like a flu, but it doesn’t have to be a flu to be equally miserable.
    Take care and hope things are slowly getting better…

  6. Yes. Just yes. Yours started like mine. The tickle. The scratch in the back of your throat. Then the sleepless night and the feeling like total crap-ola. UGH!! I am so sorry you have to deal with this. Today, a week and a half later, I can say I feel SLIGHTLY better. I still feel crappy, but just not AS crappy. I hope you get better soon!

Leave a Reply

