Marathon 25 – 5 days away!

When I sit back and think about it, I am truly astonished!

The Quarter Century mark!  I know there are people out there who have run hundreds of marathons.  You know, those 100 marathon clubs, and such.  Well, with my marathon this weekend, I feel like I am really hitting a pretty significant milestone.

image

The All American Marathon this Sunday will be my 25th marathon.  What began as a simple quest, pushing myself further than I ever thought possible, has turned into quite the passion.  It all began in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina in 2012.  My first marathon.  Races, places, I’ve been a few places since that first one.  My journey has taken me to 8 different states.  Of course I’ve run the majority of my marathons in my home state of North Carolina, but I’ve ventured out a few times.  ;). Tackling America’s Toughest Road Marathon in Virginia, enjoying plentiful neon at the Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas marathon in Nevada, running past Moose at Big Cottonwood in Utah, being cheered on twice by millions of spectators in Illinois at the infamous Bank of America Chicago Marathon, running high up in the Rocky Mountains in Colorado, and most recently taking a running bite out of the Big Apple at the TCS New York City Marathon.  Many, many more inbetween.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, the journey continues.  Still loving it, still competing, and doing more pacing.  I’m not shooting for the elusive Boston Qualifier this weekend, I am pacing instead.  I will lead the 4:00:00 group to a fun finish for my 25th this Sunday.  I’m getting very excited!  The All American Marathon this Sunday is a milestone to celebrate for me.  It also kicks off a new chapter.  Where will the next 25 take me?  The possibilities are endless!  Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Marathon 25 – 5 days away!

  1. You’ve run a lot of marathons for someone who just started them in 2012! I am thinking I may run the Charleston full next year, so all tips are appreciated bc you are definitely an expert at them. Hope you enjoy All American and have a great time helping others accomplish their marathon goals too!

      • Yeah, that’s why I am doing it. I can sleep in my own bed, I know the course, it’s “my race” :). There’s a lot of time between now and January but really, I would appreciate any tips from you or other experienced marathoners. I’ve obviously not signed up yet and a lot can happen between now and January, but my half times are getting pretty low and I kind of want to see what I could do…

Leave a Reply

