Do you inspire others to run?

Image

Crazy or not, millions of people like you and me lace up running shoes every day and hit the streets.  Running is a great way to get fit.  Running is a brilliant way to meet other like minded people trying to enjoy the benefits of a healthy lifestyle.  Running is pretty much a solo sport, however.  We can try to learn from others, listen and take advice from the pros, but it’s really just me, myself and I out there putting one foot in front of the other.

You can make a difference though, a real impact on your community at large through your running.  No matter what your skill level, we all can do it.  Just by being out there.  On the road, or on the trails.  In the park, or on the high school track.  Taking part in that local or national race.  Be an advocate for our sport.  Get others to run.  You don’t have to be real vocal about it, you can let your running shoes do the talking.

When you race, cheer on those that look like first timers.  Thank the folks on the sidelines that are watching.  Those people may be aspiring runners that just need a little motivation.  Just you being out there may influence that person to lace up and run one day.  Have you ever thought about all of those people who not necessarily are there watching your race or your run, but are just strolling by doing their own thing?  That business person walking to lunch, or that Mom pushing the baby stroller?  The girl working an aid station on the course because she needs community service hours?  The school bus driver that passes, or the postal worker delivering your mail when you are out running in your neighborhood?  All folks that are silently being influenced by your running.

I believe that it is all of our responsibilities to inspire fitness in others.  To live and breathe a happy, healthy lifestyle.  You may not want to join a running club, or be social at all with your running, but it truly can be a great way to motivate others to do the same thing.

We all aren’t out there necessarily to win, but we must all inspire.  Do it in the way that you most feel comfortable.  You don’t have to get up on stage and preach about it, or write about it, or even vocalize it.  Just a simple smile may just do the trick out there on your next run.

8 thoughts on “Do you inspire others to run?

  1. Great post, agree 100%. Fiancé just started a running group in our neighborhood and I was surprised by the interest. As for me, I thank EVERYONE at a race, they are out there keeping us safe, cheering, hydrating us…a simple thank you is easy enough.

  2. Love this post! We didn’t think we were inspirational for a long time, but slowly, I truly think our active lifestyle is inspiring others to find their own love for an activity that helps make them healthier. Definitely thank race volunteers, crowd supporters, etc. None of the amazing events we participate in would be possible without them!

  3. Race volunteers are amazing. And I found it interesting that because of me loving the simple act of running, others around me picked it up. My husband just signed up for his first marathon (Savannah RNR in November), my son wants to do a 1/2 next year at the tender age of 12, and a “non-running” but otherwise active friend started the couch to 5k program. I love it!

  4. I think just being passionate about running and how it has changed my frame of mind in the past 15 months is inspirational in itself. I love running and hopefully it shows through? I was having a conversation about running with brother and sister inlaw they asked me why I run crazy distances and what’s in it for me? I just replied “try it for yourself and see” There is nothing more therapeutic then just running with your own steam and knowing its your legs and mind set that’s carrying you and finishing feeling good ,yet physically exhausted:):)

Leave a Reply

