I feel a let down coming on….

I am four days away from my final race of 2014.  This Sunday I will be completing my race year in one final Half Marathon.  The City of Oaks Rex Healthcare Half Marathon with my sons.  Although I have really been looking forward to running this event with them, I am already starting to feel the pangs of disappointment that after the race my calendar will be empty.

I don’t know about you, but I would be willing to bet there are a bunch of you out there that like having a race on the calendar.  Something in the future to strive for.  Something to give you good reason to continue training.  I love having a race to look forward to.  It is my motivation, after all.  I just love pushing myself, and feel my best (or worst) comes out on race day.

I’ve had an astounding year, and I don’t want it to end.

I ran eight marathons this year.  After last year’s five, I never thought this possible, but I did it.  I ran all of them sub 4, and two of them are among my top 4 since becoming a marathoner a three years ago.  I’ve now run 16 marathons, and each one holds a special place in my heart.  Here is a look at the first four marathon medals this year.

Charleston, Hilton Head, Wrightsville Beach, Rock 'n' Roll Raleigh

Charleston, Hilton Head, Wrightsville Beach, Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh

…..and here is a look at the final 4 of the year.

All American, Big Cottonwood, Chicago, Greensboro

All American, Big Cottonwood, Chicago, Greensboro

Quite the collection, right?  I am very proud of each of them.  I know I will never be able to top that accomplishment, but I still have Boston to strive for.

As I start looking at races to fill my 2015 calendar, it makes me sort of uneasy that I have nothing lined up yet.  I guess I will take a month or two off from racing, and use that time to rest, recover and then gear up again for another fun year.  What races will make the cut?

Do you get that uneasy feeling when your closest race is months and months away?  Is your race calendar ever completely void?  How do you deal with it?  I would love some insights.

6 thoughts on “I feel a let down coming on….

  1. It is tough to keep going out there midweek (in the dark and cold after work) for those Nov and Dec training runs when there are no races paid for in the future. It’s almost time to start thinking about and planning those winter and spring marathons and weekend trips though! Feb and March will be here soon enough, ya know. Narrow down that list and that’ll help get your motivation back for the fall and winter 🙂

  2. I ran my last race of 2014 on Oct 19th, and it does feel a little strange. But it is also kind of exciting to plan for 2015! I’m blown away you ran 8 marathons in one year, that is something to be crazy proud of!

    • Thanks! Yes, I am super proud of it. I think my legs will thank me for the downtime this Winter. 2015 is an open book right now, just have to figure out how to fill it up with exciting races.

  3. Paul have no regrets my friend you’ve exceeded your own expectations ;);) I’m truly inspired by your accomplishments and hope to get there eventually myself but for the time being it’s regrouping and focussing on next year. Don’t be too hard on yourself 😉 good luck with your half this coming weekend have fun.

Leave a Reply

