Ok, focus…. I have a marathon to run

Image

I had such a great time in Las Vegas, but now that I am home, my focus needs to change quickly.

Took a red eye back from Vegas last night, a flight that was supposed to leave at 10:50pm.  That plane had mechanical issues and everyone had to deplane before the cabin doors closed.  Luckily, they found another plane for us, and we were on our way about an hour late.  Landed in Dulles about 7:30, and had to connect back to Raleigh less than an hour later.  We made it, tired and cranky, but we made it.

After picking up the dogs from boarding, and now getting a ton of laundry done, my focus needs to be on packing again.  I leave tomorrow at noon for the coast.  Driving this time.  Two hours down to Wrightsville Beach, NC.  So, as I managed to get in zero running in the past week, I am heading out on a three miler in a few minutes.  Just to make sure I still know how to run.  That is kind of important seeing as I have to run 26.2 miles on Sunday morning.

I will hit the expo tomorrow by 2:30, stay for the 3pm runner meeting, and then go check into my hotel.  From there I may try to squeeze in a two mile shake out run before it gets dark, and then grab something light for dinner.  Race time is very early Sunday.  6:45am, in fact. Hopefully there will not be any rain during the race, but the weather is not altogether looking very promising.  Fingers crossed, yet again.

So, the party, that was Vegas, is over.  Now I have to focus on this marathon.  Wrightsville Beach is my 3rd marathon this year, and my 11th overall.  Can’t wait to run this event for the first time.  I hear it is just supposed to be fantastic!

6 thoughts on “Ok, focus…. I have a marathon to run

  1. Kudos to you for being able to run a marathon after partying in Vegas! It’s always rough getting back into the swing of things after a getaway, but I like your style of jumping right back in with a long run! Good luck!

    • Well, I don’t party, but did have a good time. Plus I didn’t stay up late like I used to when I was younger. I should be OK, but this will be a challenge. Not as prepared as I would like to be, but will give it alp I’ve got. Thanks!

      • I don’t party either. In fact when I went to Vegas, I was up at 6am every morning to go running. Haha. I blame jet lag! Still, coming back from Vegas was rough because I didn’t want to get up. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

