Marathon training – almost there

Wrapping up another week of training, the countdown seems to be ticking away faster and faster.  I don’t know about you, but the tediousness of a long marathon training plan sometimes makes me feel like race day will never get here.

image

Now just 39 days away from my BQ attempt, I have to say that training is going about as well as I can expect it to.  We had a nice break from the heat here in NC over the past five days which really helped.  I got in some quality runs, mixing in a lot of downhill work along the way.  I have to say, looking back at my training last Summer, I am certainly not putting in the miles this year like last year.  Last year in July, I ran over 110 miles.  This year like 83.  I really think the difference being that I have run five marathons this year already, and my body is still sort of in recovery mode.  Last year that wasn’t the case.  I’ve been hampered more than I care to admit by hamstring issues.  Yes, lingering issues.  Looking back at some older blog posts, I mention my hamstrings hurting damn near nine months ago.  I’ve been struggling with them, and I know it hampers my pace.  Sometimes I just can’t get loose, or it takes me a few miles before I really can get up to speed on a run.  I tell myself, just get over it, and run, but sometimes it just really is irritating, literally.

Enough about that.  It is what it is.  I will survive.  I go on vacation at the end of this month, and I will get my rest then.  I don’t plan on running at all while on vacation, so these next 25 days are really the final stretch of training.  I plan on meaningful and impactful runs mostly revolving on the downhill work.  I will try to get in two final long runs, but nothing over the top.  I know I can do the distance, and I don’t want to injure myself in an attempt to “get the miles in”.  I must arrive at August 30th feeling that I gave it my all. When I return from vacation, all I will do is some short maintenance runs in the five days leading up to my trip to Utah.  I want my legs to be fresh, and ready to take that downhill marathon by storm.

So, with a vacation involved in the final stages of this training plan, I have a taper built in.  What a great way to taper, too.  I really need this vacation.  The benefits a vacation will have on my mental game will help me too during the final stretch.

So, how is your training going?  How many days until your big race?  How do you like to taper?

15 thoughts on “Marathon training – almost there

    • I’m no Spring chicken anymore, either. I have to remind myself that I’m not in my 20’s or 30’s anymore. There’s bound to be physical issues anytime we run like this. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

  1. eh, my training is not really going :::hangs head::: BUT, I just got new shoes so I’m hoping to get in a few miles before Zumba tonight. I’m about 90% sure I’m going to do the City of Oaks half… That gives me 13 weeks to get my self together. I’ve decided I need to get at least one more half under my belt before I lose my mind and sign up for a full. I’m probably going to sign up for the North Hills 5k in September and Tir Na Nog’s 8k in October. You should link-up for the #100SummerMiles challenge… you’re already getting the miles and writing about it, might as well link-up! http://www.mindofkiwi.com/2014/07/100summermiles.html

    Hope your hamstrings feel better! I’m jealous you have a vacation planned.

  2. I feel like I’m WAY behind the 8-ball on training, but really, my A race is six months away. My B race is in less than 3 months, but oh well. (Yeah, I say that NOW!) I’ve taken a lot of days off, mixed in with some pretty intense working out, so it’s hard to reconcile when I’m used to always going, even though not as intense. It’s been raining here since Friday and I’m really tired of it!!!!

  3. Holy cow! Five marathons?! That’s a lot of training and recovery! Hope your BQ attempt pays off and you get enough time to get a good recovery in before you need to start training again!

  4. Best of luck with your last few weeks of training. Mine is just ramping up – about 14 weeks from race day. Like you said at the beginning of this post – sometimes race day feels soooo far away.

  5. I feel you on…you feel like race day is so far away then it just sneaks up! As a BQ hopeful myself I decided this year in my attempts to BQ I’ll let my legs rest a little bit – last year I 2 marathons in 3 weeks and by that 2nd marathon I missed BQ by 2 minutes and thats because my legs were shot. Sounds like this will be your year, I’m looking forward to hearing how the rest of your training goes.

    • Thank you! As time ticks by and the race gets closer and closer, I start feeling like I am not preparing enough. I’ve placed a lot of pressure on myself for this race, in hopes of that elusive BQ. My best is 7 minutes off BQ pace, so I really have to book it. Where are you attempting your next BQ?

Leave a Reply

